Every Liberty A-League award winner: Julie Dolan Medalist, Fan Player of the Year & more

Sophie Harding | Julie Dolan Medal Winner | 2023-24

Western Sydney Wanderers striker Sophie Harding took out top honours as the winners of the league’s 10 prestigious post-season awards were confirmed at Saturday’s Liberty A-League Grand Final.

Harding claimed the Julie Dolan medal after a breakout campaign at the Wanderers, scoring 12 goals to smash the club’s all-time single-season scoring record – previously set at seven goals.

CHAMPIONS! Sydney FC make history with Liberty A-League Grand Final triumph

The 24-year-old was presented with the coveted medal during a half-time ceremony at the competition’s title decider between Melbourne City and Sydney FC at AAMI Park; the Julie Dolan Medalist was revealed along with the winners of Coach of the Year, Goal of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and more both before kick-off and at half-time in a special commemoration of the league’s top performers in 2023-24.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Emily Husband named Liberty A-League Coach of the Year after dream debut season at Central Coast
JULIE DOLAN MEDAL: Wanderers star wins Julie Dolan Medal after record-breaking campaign: Full final leaderboard

Central Coast Mariners head coach Emily Husband was named Coach of the Year at Saturday’s ceremony. The Englishwoman built the Mariners’ playing squad from scratch in the off-season ahead of the club’s reintroduction to the league after a 15-year hiatus and under Husband’s watch, the Mariners finished fifth and progressed to the Semi-Finals where they suffered a slender 2-1 aggregate defeat to Sydney FC in the Semi-Finals.

Goalkeeper of the Year honours went to Perth Glory’s Morgan Aquino, who made 126 saves throughout the season with a save percentage of 81.1%. Aquino was named in the PFA’s Team of the Season in midweek in recognition of her outstanding individual campaign in purple.

Newcastle Jets captain Cassidy Davis won the Liberty Goal of the Year award with just the second goal of her 152-game Liberty A-League career, scored in Round 3 against Western Sydney Wanderers from long range in stunning fashion.

The eToro Playmaker of the Year for the best assist of the season was awarded to Wellington Phoenix youngster Alyssa Whinham.

The 20-year-old took out the award after her stunning pass to Michaela Robertson in Wellington’s victory over Perth Glory in Round 19.

Canberra United striker Michelle Heyman was presented with the Golden Boot at half-time of Saturday’s Grand Final, after her 17-goal haul in 2023-24. The Golden Boot, Julie Dolan Medal and Liberty Goal of the Year were all distributed during the half-time ceremony, with Coach of the Year, eToro Playmaker of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year all presented as part of the pre-match celebrations with all winners in attendance.

The six award-winners revealed on Grand Final day added to four honours bestowed in the days leading into the title decider: Boost Young Footballer of the Year (Daniela Galic – Melbourne City), Save of the Year (Brianna Edwards – Wellington Phoenix), Fan Player of the Year (Mariana Speckmaier – Wellington Phoenix) and Referee of the Year (Casey Reibelt).

REFEREE OF THE YEAR: Casey Reibelt earns Liberty A-League Referee of the Year honour
BOOST YOUNG FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR: Melbourne City sensation named Boost Young Footballer of the Year
FAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Wellington Phoenix star named Liberty A-League Fan Player of the Year

Full list of Liberty A-League award winners

Julie Dolan MedalSophie Harding – WSW
Boost Young Footballer of the YearDaniela Galic – MCY
Goalkeeper of the YearMorgan Aquino – PER
Liberty Goal of the YearCassidy Davis – NEW
Coach of the YearEmily Husband – CCM
Golden BootMichelle Heyman – CBR
Save of the YearBrianna Edwards – WEL
eToro Playmaker of the YearAlyssa Whinham – WEL
Fan Player of the YearMariana Speckmaier – WEL
Referee of the Year Casey Reibelt