The winners from your Westfield W-League club’s end of season awards night

The best of a brilliant Westfield W-League bunch are set to be recognised by their clubs, as end of season awards nights come thick and fast.

Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory may have finished with championship and premiership honours respectively, but there’s a host of other silverware that has been dished out since.

Who picked up individual honours at your club? Let’s find out.

BEST OF: Top long-range stunners of the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season
BEST OF: Top free-kicks of the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season


Sydney FC

Inspirational captain Teresa Polias claimed the top award from Sydney’s end of season celebration, the Sky Blue Ball.

The club stalwart – who skippered the Sky Blues for a fifth season in 2018/19 – clinched her second Player of the Year accolade after her pivotal role in steering Sydney to their third Championship win. 

Prolific Westfield Matildas forward Caitlin Foord earned Golden Boot honours after firing 10 goals in 14 matches, while Elizabeth Ralston took out the Member’s Player of the Year award.

Click HERE to see which Sydney players took out Hyundai A-League honours

Caitlin Foord; Clare Polkinghorne

Melbourne Victory

It’s been a season to remember for Melbourne Victory in the Westfield W-League after their premiership success, with American midfielder Christine Nairn leading the way.

Nairn, who claimed the Julie Dolan Medal at the Dolan Warren Awards night earlier this month, also took out the two big awards at Victory.

She picked up both the Victory Medal and the club’s Westfield W-League Players’ Player of the Year award.

The other big winner for Victory was skipper Natasha Dowie, with the striker picking up the Golden Boot for his terrific nine-goal campaign.

Click HERE to see which Victory players took out Hyundai A-League honours


Adelaide United

Amber Brooks made quite an impression in her first season with the Reds and was a deserved winner of the Player of the Year gong.

The American centre-back joined Adelaide on loan at the start of the campaign and was a key part of the side’s rock-solid defence, and also registered three assists.

It was another import from the US that finished with the Golden Boot, with Veronika Latsko’s nine goals seeing her finish as the team’s top scorer.

The Rising Star prize went to Charlotte Grant, who burst onto the scene this season, featuring in 11 games for Ivan Karlovic’s side.

Click HERE to see which Adelaide players took out Hyundai A-League honours

Perth Glory

Sam Kerr’s trophy cabinet must be nearing maximum capacity after the Westfield Matildas striker cleaned up at Perth Glory’s awards night.

Kerr was voted Perth’s Westfield W-League Player of the Year – the ‘Most Glorious Player’ – for a third straight season, and also secured the Golden Boot with her 17 goals.

Glory players voted Kerr as Player’s Player too, while Shannon May was also given honours in recognition of her ten years of service.

Click HERE to see which Glory players took out Hyundai A-League honours

VOTE: Sam Kerr nominated for BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2019

Sam Kerr

Western Sydney Wanderers

Foundation member Servet Uzunlar returned to the club this season and made quite an impact in her 11 matches in the Westfield W-League.

The 30-year-old was a leader on and off the park for the club, awarded the Wanderers Medal as the team’s Player of the Year.

Goalkeeper Jada Whyman continued to show why she’s one of the brightest talents in Australian football, voted Members’ Westfield W-League Player of the Year. 

And Kylie Ledbrook claimed the Westfield W-League Golden Boot with her three goals for the campaign.

Click HERE to see which Western Sydney players collected Hyundai A-League honours

Jada Whyman

Brisbane Roar

Veteran centre back Clare Polkinghorne was again the bedrock of Brisbane’s title assault and was rewarded by winning the club’s Player of the Year award.

The Westfield Matildas veteran, 30, helped marshal one of the competition’s meanest defences and in doing so underlined her reputation as one of Australia’s best in her position.

American midfielder Celeste Boureille took out Player’s Player honours, while striker Allira Toby clinched her second straight Golden Boot with five goals.

Emerging starlet Indiah-Paige Riley earned Breakthrough Player of the Year, capturing the attention of many fans across the country when she scored her maiden goal on her 17th birthday.

Click HERE to see which Brisbane players collected Hyundai A-League honours

NWSL EXPLAINER: Everything you need to know about the upcoming 2019 season
NWSL BIBLE: Every Westfield W-League player in America’s top flight

Caitlin Foord; Clare Polkinghorne

Melbourne City

It was the international stars that swept the major awards for City in a 2018/19 Season where the club failed to reach the finals for the first time in their history.

Classy Japanese midfielder Yukari Kinga continued to put in consistent performances, resulting in her being crowned City’s Player of the Year.

The Coach’s Award was taken out by Lauren Barnes, while the Golden Boot went to Jasmyne Spencer for her four goals in 11 appearances.

Spencer Hat-Trick

Newcastle Jets

It was a case of double delight for young midfielder Clare Wheeler, who collected Player of the Year and Cheryl Salisbury Dedication Award honours for Newcastle.

Emerging talent Cortnee Vine took out the Golden Boot with four goals, and also clinched Goal of the Year honours for her ridiculous bending effort against Canberra United in Round 3.

American goalkeeper Britt Eckerstrom was rewarded for her brilliance between the sticks by earning Members Player of the Year honours.

Click HERE to see which Jets took out Hyundai A-League honours