Sydney grab Big Blue ALM draw with Victory

Bobo has scored an late equalising goal to earn Sydney FC a 2-2 draw with Melbourne Victory, stretching the Sky Blues’ unbeaten Isuzu UTE A-League run against their fierce rivals to nine games.

The Victory — who haven’t beaten Sydney since January 26, 2019 and had lost their previous eight league clashes — twice took and lost the lead at AAMI Park on Tuesday night.

Ben Folami put the league leaders in front in the 17th minute only for Milos Ninkovic to reply in the 37th.

Robbie Kruse’s would-be winner in the 77th was cancelled out but Bobo’s header four minutes later.

Victory are two points clear of Melbourne City and Macarthur FC, while Sydney sit just inside the top six.

The game sparked to life when ex-Victory forward Elvis Kamsoba’s jinking run ended in him turning the ball over, allowing the hosts to counter.

Josh Brillante released Marco Rojas, who charged down the right before he provided a lovely switch to Folami.

The young striker took a touch then rifled a low, hard strike into the far bottom corner.

Sydney responded 20 minutes later when Ninkovic pounced amid a chaotic goal-mouth scramble as Victory players fell over around him.

Folami spurned a golden chance in the 52nd minute, hitting a would-be tap-in straight at Thomas Heward-Belle, who made a fine reflex save.

Victory’s Rai Marchan had to be taken off on a stretcher in the 64th minute after a nasty aerial head clash with teammate Jason Geria, who required medical treatment himself to play on.

Victory regained the lead when the excellent Folami burst down the right, into the area and skidded the ball across the face of goal for Kruse to tap home.

But four minutes later, Bobo rose highest at a corner to head home and snatch Sydney a point.

Victory coach Tony Popovic received a yellow card in the aftermath to the equaliser and shortly after Kruse whipped a strike just wide.

Sydney were without Socceroos Andrew Redmayne, Rhyan Grant and Joel King, while Victory were without centre-backs Roderick Miranda, Brendan Hamill and Matthew Spiranovic.