Sam Kerr and Craig Goodwin get top honours at annual PFA Awards

Charlotte Grant and Jordan Bos win Young Player of the Year gongs, while Melissa Barbieri and Mile Jedinak are honoured.

One starred for Australia at the World Cup and the other is about to – now Craig Goodwin and Sam Kerr have received their ultimate accolade from their peers.

Adelaide United captain Goodwin and Chelsea striker Kerr were named their respective Footballers of the Year at the PFA’s annual awards night in Sydney on Monday, capping hugely successful periods for them both.

Jordan boss continued his remarkable 2023 by adding the male Young Footballer of the Year Award to go with his $2million transfer to Belgium and first appearances for the Socceroos, while Charlotte Grant – about to feature for the Matildas at the FIFA Women’s World Cup – won the female Young Player of the Year Award.

Two senior figures in Australian football also saw their contributions to the game recognised, with former Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri and ex-Socceroos skipper Mile Jedinak both receiving the prestigious Alex Tobin Medals for services to the game.

Former Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri won the Alex Tobin Medal for her services to the game.

For Kerr it is the sixth such recognition, underlining her remarkable consistency for club and country for a number of years – scoring 29 goals for Chelsea this season to become the first female to win the UK’s Football Writers’ Association Women’s Footballer of the Year award two years in a row.

“To receive the recognition of your peers, who know the sacrifices and challenges you face, is a huge honour,” Kerr said. “I’m incredibly fortunate to be part of two great teams and I am so grateful to all the players I get to take the pitch with.”

Goodwin meanwhile added this award to the Johnny Warren Medal he won at the end of 2022-23 for a stellar season in the Isuzu UTE A-League, and coming after he scored for the Socceroos at the World Cup in Qatar in December.

“To be voted by the players as the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year is a great honour and tops off what has been a brilliant 12 months for me personally,” Goodwin said. “For the Socceroos and at Adelaide I get to step onto the pitch with great players and this award is only possible because of their efforts.”

Another member of Tony Gustavsson’s Matildas squad for the World Cup was also recognised, with Aivi Luik receiving the Community Medal for raising over $40,000 for the Mark Hughes Foundation.

The PFA’s Craig Foster Media Scholarship, given to an Australian footballer with the ambition to forge a career in the football media, was awarded to KEEPUP pundit Grace Gill and Emma Illajovski.

The PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships, awarded to two players who demonstrate excellence in their development off the field, were given to Ben Collins and Scott Neville.

Alex Tobin Medal: Melissa Barbieri, Mile Jedinak
Women’s Footballer of the Year: Sam Kerr
Men’s Footballer of the Year:  Craig Goodwin
Young Women’s Footballer of the Year: Charlotte Grant
Harry Kewell Medal:  Jordan Bos
Community Medal: Aivi Luik
Kimon Taliadoros Scholarship: Ben Collins and Scott Neville
Craig Foster Scholarship: Grace Gill and Emma Illajovski