Nestory Irankunda named in prestigious list of the best U20 players in world football

Bayern Munich-bound Nestory Irankunda has been named in French publication L’Équipe’s top 30 U20 players in world football.

The prestigious French newspaper ranked Irankunda 28th on a list of the top 30 players born after January 1, 2005, among some of the top emerging prospects in world football.

Barcelona’s Lamine Yamal topped the list featuring prized Real Madrid recruit Endrick, Paris Saint-Germain talent Warren Zaïre-Emery and Manchester United midfielder Kobbie Mainoo.

Irankunda’s selection in L’Équipe’s 30-player list was confirmed in the lead-up to the teenager’s Socceroos debut against Bangladesh on Thursday, June 6; the Adelaide United product earned Socceroos cap #643 in Australia’s 2-0 win on the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying trail.

The 18-year-old is set to depart Adelaide United for the German giants after his third season in the Isuzu UTE A-League; Irankunda is both the youngest player to have reached 50 Isuzu UTE A-League appearances and the youngest-ever hat-trick scorer in the competition’s history.

READ MORE: Socceroos debut for A-Leagues prodigy as Arzani makes long-awaited return to national team fold

L’Équipe’s top 30 U20 players in world football

Club sides listed as of the 2024-25 season

  1. Lamine Yamal (Barcelona)
  2. Warren Zaïre-Emery (Paris Saint-Germain)
  3. Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United)
  4. Endrick (Real Madrid)
  5. Pau Cubarsi (Barcelona)
  6. Leny Yoro (Lille)
  7. Désiré Doué (Rennes)
  8. Kendry Paez (Chelsea)
  9. Jorrel Hato (Ajax)
  10. Mathys Tel (Bayern Munich)
  11. Arda Güler (Real Madrid)
  12. Arthur Vemeeren (Atlético Madrid)
  13. Kenan Yildiz (Juventus)
  14. Lewis Miley (Newcastle United)
  15. Can Uzun (1. FC Nürnberg)
  16. Antonio Nusa (Club Brugge)
  17. Jobe Bellingham (Sunderland)
  18. George Ilenikhena (Royal Antwerp)
  19. Malick Fofana (Lyon)
  20. Archie Gray (Leeds United)
  21. Lucas Bergvall (Tottenham)
  22. Claudio Echeverri (Manchester City)
  23. Guillaume Restes (Toulouse)
  24. Eliesse Ben Seghir (Monaco)
  25. Benjamin Cremaschi (Inter Miami)
  26. Vitor Roque (Barcelona)
  27. Semih Kılıçsoy (Beşiktaş)
  28. Nestory Irankunda (Bayern Munich)
  29. Wesley (Corinthians)
  30. Filip Sidklev (IF Brommapojkarna)