Kiwi international joins Roar Women

New Zealand international Kirsty Yallop is the latest addition to the Brisbane Roar Westfield W-League squad.

The 28-year-old midfielder has played 90 times for her country, including FIFA Women’s World Cup and Olympics appearances, and has netted 12 international goals.

She signed a one-season contract with the Roar Women today after five seasons in Sweden’s Damallsvenskan with Vittsjo GIK (85 games, 11 goals) and before that a season with Kristianstad (21 games, one goal).

She previously played in the United States with the now defunct Pali Blues and in New Zealand with Lynn-Avon United AFC.

Yallop will begin training with the Roar today ahead of tomorrow’s Westfield W-League game against Adelaide United at Cleveland (2pm kick off).

Roar Women’s Coach Belinda Wilson said Yallop would bring many qualities to her new-look squad.

“Kirsty brings more experience to the playing group to help guide the squad on and off the field,” Wilson said.

“Her discipline in the small details, in attack and defence, will help the squad become more competitive in training and enhance the way we wish to play come game day.”

Kirsty Yallop

It is the second international signing in less than a month by the Roar following the acquisition of American goalkeeper Haley Kopmeyer, on loan from Seattle Reign FC.

The Roar Women are undefeated after two rounds of the Westfield W-League – a 2-1 upset of Champions Canberra United in Round 1 and a 3-0 sweep of Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 2.

Brisbane are joint leaders with Melbourne City FC on six points on the table. Adelaide United has played only one game so far this season – a 2-2 draw with the Wanderers.

Wilson yesterday named an extended 18-player squad for Sunday’s match that includes returning Matildas Clare Polkinghorne, Katrina Gorry and Tameka Butt after their tour of China and will use today’s final training session to assess the trio’s possible involvement in tomorrow’s game.

Squads for #BRIvADL

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Haley Kopmeyer (gk), 2. Brooke Goodrich, 3. Amy Chapman, 4. Clare Polkinghorne, 6. Angela Beard, 7. Gabe Marzano, 8. Ayesha Norrie, 9. Cortnee Vine, 10. Katrina Gorry, 12. Alisha Foote, 13. Tameka Butt, 14. Summer O’Brien, 15. Ruth Blackburn, 16. Ashley Spina, 17. Emily Gielnik, 18. Maili Forbes, 19. Sofie Persson, 20. Carrie Simpson (gk).

Ins: Brooke Goodrich (return from injury), Clare Polkinghorne, Katrina Gorry, Tameka Butt (all return from international duty).

Outs: Elise Franco (not considered)

Adelaide United squad: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Allira Toby, Chantelle Ryder, Emily Condon, Marijana Rajcic, Georgia Campagnale, Gabrielle Bentley, Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne, Abbigail Dahlkemper, Grace Abbey, Tiarn Powell, Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Ins: Marijana Rajcic (return from injury), Gabrielle Bentley (promoted)

Outs: Lorena Maggio (not considered)