Everything you need to know about the upcoming 2019 NWSL season

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) has been a destination for many Westfield W-League players down the years.

Beginning in 2013 and considered by many the best women’s league in the world, the NWSL brings together the best clubs from the length and breadth of the United States of America.

VIDEOS: Remember the Westfield W-League 2018/19 season that was
RE-LIVE: Best long range strikes of the Westfield W-League 2018/19 season

Get Onside

Nine teams will be fighting it out to become Champions: Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Portland Thorns FC, Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Utah Royals FC and Washington Spirit.

Read on to find out everything you need to know ahead of the 2019 NWSL season!

How does it work?

The league runs across our winter (April-October) so Westfield W-League fans can enjoy some high-quality football while they wait for their Aussie clubs to return to action.

The competition format also makes it easy for Australians to get behind with 24 rounds before the top four teams break away for a finals series – or playoffs to use the American term.

Who won last time out?

North Carolina Courage dominated the league in 2018, finishing atop the standings by 15 points before easily overcoming Portland Thorns 3-0 in the Championship decider.

The Courage also became the first team in NWSL history to win the NWSL Shield and the NWSL Championship in the same season.

How did the Aussies do?

Sam Kerr led the way for the Aussie contingent as she usually does, topping the overall goal-scoring charts with 16 strikes.

Kerr also won the August player of the month award after she notched up five goals and one assist.

Lydia Williams, Steph Catley and Kerr all featured in team of the month line-ups while Alanna Kenendy and Hayley Raso each won a goal of the week award.

Which Westfield W-League players will be competing?

Chicago Red Stars – Sam Kerr, Nikki Stanton, Alyssa Mautz, Katie Naughton, Yuki Nagasato, Danielle Colaprico

Houston Dash – Amber Brooks, Sofia Huerta, Veronica Latsko, Christine Nairn, Clare Polkinghorne, Kyah Simon

North Carolina Courage – Denise O’Sullivan

Orlando Pride – Rachel Hill, Alanna Kennedy, Carson Pickett, Chioma Ubogagu, Emily Van Egmond, Dani Weatherholt

Portland Thorns – Celeste Boureille, Ellie Carpenter, Britt Eckerstrom, Cailtin Foord, Hayley Raso

Seattle Reign FC – Lauren Barnes, Steph Catley, Elise Kellond-Knight, Theresa Nielsen, Jasmyne Spencer, Jodie Taylor, Lydia Williams

Sky Blue FC – Savannah McCaskill

Utah Royals – Rachel Corsie, Samantha Johnson, Gunnhildur Jonsdottir, Lo’eau LaBonta, Sydney Miramontez, Katie Stengel

Washington Spirit – Chloe Logarzo, Amy Harrison, Paige Nielsen, Aubrey Bledsoe

Savannah McCaskill