Dolan Warren Awards: Ninković, Dávila claim Johnny Warren Medal

After producing respectively outstanding performances throughout the A-League season, both Miloš Ninković and Ulises Dávila were honoured as joint recipients of the Johnny Warren Medal for 2020/21 at the Dolan Warren Awards.

The two midfield magicians were named winners of the prestigious medal at the awards ceremony held virtually on Wednesday, 23 June.

The Johnny Warren Medal votes were cast after each game (on a 3-2-1 basis) by four experts: a former professional player, a technical expert (including Socceroos coaches), the match officials from that game, and finally a senior member of the Australian football media.

Fans can follow all the action of the virtual event via the A-League and Westfield W-League Facebook pages, My Football YouTube channel, and the My Football Live App on Wednesday evening, 23 June at 7:30pm (AEST). The Dolan Warren awards will also be available to watch on Kayo Sports at the conclusion of the live show.

Dávila earned a share of the Johnny Warren Medal in his second and final season with Wellington Phoenix. Taking captaincy of the Phoenix in 2020/21, Dávila carried on the phenomenal form of his first season in the competition as he notched seven goals and seven assists to guide the Wollongong-based Phoenix to within one point of a Finals Series berth.

The Mexican finished as Wellington’s second-highest scorer for the season, level on seven goals with Ben Waine. His seven assists was a team-high for the Phoenix, just two behind Alessandro Diamanti (nine) who notched the most assists of any player. 

Dávila departs the Phoenix having led by example as captain throughout a testing season for all involved at the club. Winning the Johnny Warren Medal gives one of the league’s most eye-catching performers reward for a brilliant individual campaign which brought Phoenix fans and neutrals alike plenty of joy as they watched the creator go about his business in 2020/21.

Ninković joins Dávila as one of two Johnny Warren Medalists this season, becoming the second player in A-League history to win the award twice alongside Brisbane Roar’s Thomas Broich.

The Sydney FC star collects the award as he continues his race against the clock to return to fitness for the A-League Grand Final after missing his side’s Semi Final win over Adelaide United with a calf injury.

Ninković scored four goals, assisted four more and created 32 chances this season in 26 games (W13, D8, L5).

A-League Grand Final – Match Details

Melbourne City v Sydney FC
Sunday, June 27 2021
Venue: AAMI Park
Kick-off: 5.05pm AEST
Match Centre

Ways to watch

KAYO FREEBIES: How to watch all the Finals Series action LIVE and FREE on Kayo Sports!
Download the MyFootball Live App now
Get Foxtel

Kayo Freebies - Thin Banner