Melbourne City farewell French star after five title-laden seasons

Florin Berenguer has left Melbourne City after three Isuzu UTE A-League Premierships and a Championship with the club.

The veteran French star, who arrived in 2018, was an integral part of the City side that won their maiden Championship in 2020-21.

He also featured in the team that clinched a record third successive Premiership last season before falling to Central Coast Mariners in June’s Grand Final.

INS AND OUTS: Isuzu UTE A-League 2023-24 Transfer Centre

Berenguer departs City after 111 appearances – the fourth most in the club’s history, while he also scored 10 goals and supplied 16 assists. Only Scott Jamieson, Curtis Good and Jamie Maclaren have made more appearances for City than the 34-year-old.

“Florin was a fantastic person and clubman. He contributed so much to our success over the years and was pleasure to have worked with,” said City’s director of football Michael Petrillo.

“He was respected by his teammates and all the staff at Melbourne City. It was a difficult decision to release him, but he goes with our sincere thanks and best wishes.

“He will always be welcome at our club.”

In 2022-23, Berenguer scored one goal in 18 appearances for City – who featured in a fourth consecutive Grand Final.

He is latest departure in a busy off-season for the club.

Jordan Bos (KVV Westerlo)Scott Jamieson (retirement)Valon Berisha (end of loan), Raphael Borges Rodrigues (Macarthur FC), Matthew Sutton (Western United), Kerrin Stokes (Adelaide City), Tom Glover (Middlesbrough)Aiden O’Neill (Standard Liege)Thomas Lam (PEC Zwolle), Richard van der Venne (St Gallen), and Marco Tilio (Celtic) have all left.

City, meanwhile, have signed Tolgay Arslan (Udinese)Alessandro Lopane (Western Sydney Wanderers), Patrick Beach (Central Coast Mariners), Zane Schreiber (Sydney FC)Steven Ugarkovic (Wellington Phoenix), Jamie Young (Western United)Terry Antonis (Western Sydney Wanderers)Samuel Souprayen (Botev Plovdiv)Marin Jakolis (Angers – on loan), and Aziz Behich (Dundee United).