Who’s who in the W – Perth Glory

Perth Glory name their squad ahead of the big kick-off

The Perth Glory women-s team are primed to make their finals debut in the Westfield W-League 2010/11 season. The opening two seasons were all about building a squad and getting experience for the players but a steady progression sees the squad in a much better place this time round.

The opening season was a disappointment to the Perth girls, who finished second bottom notching up three wins in the process. They were however, only three points off the eventual winners Sydney FC so the season was all about taking the positives onto the next season. One more win and better goal difference would-ve seen them reach the play-offs after all.

The second season was definitely a progression and after winning four matches and drawing one, they ended up in a more respectable sixth place. This time they were just one point off the fourth placed Canberra United so the season again was a great platform to launch this term-s campaign from.

This season sees the Perth squad ready to fulfil their potential and coach John Gibson feels that his side are due to shine on the national stage, with several big names back for the season. The squad also boasts three Westfield Matildas, including the recently crowned Under 20 Australian Player of the Year Sam Kerr.

Other players to look out for include the national side-s vice captain Collette McCallum and Katie Gill, who will add a great deal of experience to the line-up and give them some stability. Tanya Oxtoby, young starlet Marianna Tabain and last season-s Most Glorious Player Shannon May are all looking to push Glory to a higher position this time round.

With a combination of young stars in the making such as Tabain and Kerr and internationally experienced Gill and McCallum Perth are definitely tipped to be pushing the top sides in a bid for their first ever play-off finish. This impressive mixture should see them improving on their previous two finishes but only time will tell.

Perth Glory Squad:

Tine CEDERKVIST, Stacey LEARMONT, Carys HAWKINS, Samantha KERR, Shannon MAY, Alexandra SINGER, Alexandra NILSSON, Collette McCALLUM,
Tanya OXTOBY(c), Lara FILOCAMO, Kate GILL, Elisa D-OVIDIO, Jaymee GIBBONS,
Sadie LAWRENCE, Marianna TABAIN, Emily DUNN, Kathleen WAYCOTT

Confirmed Arrivals:

Tine Cederkvist, Stacey Learmont, Alexandra Nilsson, Lara Filocamo, Emily Dunn, Kathleen Waycott, Jaymee Gibbons

Confirmed Departures:

Lisa De Vanna, Emma Wirkus, Ella Mastrantonio, Ciara Conway, Katarina Jukic, Zoe Palandri,
Elissia Canham, Ellis Glanfield

Perth-s Fixtures:


Sun 7, 3:00 PM
Canberra United W-League
6PR Stadium, Perth

Sat 13, 12:00 PM
Adelaide United W-League
nib Stadium, Perth

Sat 27, 4:00 PM
Brisbane Roar W-League
Perry Park, Brisbane


Sun 5, 5:00 PM
Newcastle Jets W-League
6PR Stadium, Perth

Sat 11, 3:00 PM
Sydney FC W-League
WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Sat 18, 4:15 PM
Melbourne Victory W-League
AAMI Park, Melbourne


Sun 9, 5:00 PM
Sydney FC W-League
6PR Stadium, Perth

Sat 15, 2:30 PM
Adelaide United W-League
Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide

Sun 23, 5:00 PM
Melbourne Victory W-League
6PR Stadium, Perth

Sat 29, 3:00 PM
Canberra United W-League
McKellar Park, Canberra