Who’s Who in the W – Brisbane Roar

Brisbane Roar unveil release their squad details as they look for another solid season.

Brisbane Roar have named their squad ahead of the third season in the Westfield W-League and are hoping for another solid performance after finishing third last time round. Anything like the 3rd place they secured last time would be a good result with the competition stronger than ever but the club has rightfully high ambitions.

They-re hoping to improve on that third place and the general feeling amongst the coach and squad is that securing a home tie in the play-offs (by finishing second) would be their main goal for the season as a whole. However, despite the conservative pre-season approach from the squad, they will definitely be one of the big contenders for the title and should be there or there abouts come the end of the season.

The first season (as Queensland) saw them dominate the league, winning by a massive eight points and they were only defeated once in the entire campaign until the final. They also had a massive goal difference that was 15 better than their rivals after finishing top scorers and having the best defence.

They then went on to win on penalties against Sydney in the semi and defeated Canberra 2-0 in the final, capping off a near perfect opening season in the Westfield W-League. Sydney had their revenge last season after they beat Brisbane 3-2 in the final, as well as taking out the league title.

In terms of players, star Clare Polkinghorne needs no introduction and will be looking to cap off a great year, where she-s become the captain, won the AFC Asian Cup and was also named the FFA Women-s Player of the year. The only way to make it better would be to add the Westfield W-League trophy to her growing list of triumphs!

Other names that spring to mind are young keeper Casey Dumont, who will be looking to cement her place in the national team, and Tameka Butt. Despite being injured, Butt finished top scorer for the Roar last season and her exciting fast paced approach makes her an exciting player to watch.

In defence, Kim Carroll and Laura Alleway are again looking to give the team a strong base to build from and if past performances are anything to go by, they-ll be marshalling one of the stingiest defences in the league.

In terms of players to look out for, Emily Gielnik-s name deserves a mention. As a quick strong striker, she-s a danger around the penalty and can shoot with both feet. She-s sure to be a handful for any defence in the league this season.

This campaign-s set to be a lot tougher than previous ones though as the other squads in the competition are getting much stronger and have a great deal more depth than in the past. Brisbane will be looking to prove that they-re still amongst the best sides in the competition though and one thing-s for sure, it-s due to be an exciting season for the squad.

Brisbane Roar Squad
Westfield W-League Season Three

Casey DUMONT (Goalkeeper), Laura ALLEWAY (Defender), Karla REUTER (Defender),Clare POLKINGHORNE (Midfield), Brooke SPENCE (Defender),
Joanne BURGESS (Striker), Kim CARROLL (Defender), Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT (Striker), Alicia FOOTE (Striker), Lana HARCH (Striker), Aivi LUIK (Midfield), Rebekah STOTT (Defender), Tameka BUTT (Midfield), Amy CHAPMAN (Striker), Erika ELZE (Defender), Lauren COLTHORPE (Midfield), Emily GIELNIK (Striker)

Kim Carroll – returned from Long term injury
Amy Chapman- returned from Long term injury
Laura Alleway-Melbourne Victory
Emily Gielnik- returned from Long term injury
Rebekah Stott-Queensland Academy of Sport Women-s Football Program
Erika Elze- Queensland Academy of Sport Women-s Football Program

Kate McShae – Retired
Jenna Tristram – Retired
Courtney Beutel
Pam Bignold
Stephanie Latham
Leah Curtis
Ellen Beaumont – Living in Canada



Sat 6, 2PM
Ballymore Stadium

Sat 13, 5PM
Canberra United
McKellar Park, Canberra

Sat 20, 3PM
Newcastle Jets
Wanderers Oval, Newcastle

Sat 27, 4PM
Perth Glory
Perry Park, Brisbane


Sat 4, 3PM
Melbourne Victory
AAMI Park, Melbourne

Fri 10, 4:45PM
Adelaide United
Hindmarsh, Adelaide

Sat 18, 4PM
Canberra United
Perry Park, Brisbane


Sat 1, 3PM
Campbelltown Stadium

Sat 15, 4PM
Melbourne Victory
Perry Park, Brisbane

Sat 22, 2PM
Newcastle Jets
Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane