Westfield W-League preview: Perth Glory

We look at the prospects for Perth Glory heading into the Westfield W-League season.

It shapes as an intriguing campaign for reigning premiers Perth Glory, one with several unanswered questions ahead of the new season.

Despite their success last term under Jamie Harnwell, there is much change in the west not only with the playing and coaching personnel, but also with the club management transferring from the state federation to the Hyundai A-League side.

Harnwell has moved on to Adelaide United, and in his stead is another Glory legend in the shape of Bobby Despotovski. With little background in women’s football, he will receive invaluable support from recently retired Westfield Matildas legend Collette McCallum as she embarks on the next stage of her career.

The Glory have lost some serious talent in the shape of Alanna Kennedy, former Canadian youth international Shelina Zadorsky, plus local stars Marianna Tabain and Westfield Matildas top-scorer Kate Gill for this season’s competition.

They have, however, brought in some defensive power in Danielle Brogan and Kim Carroll, plus well-credentialed American Nikky Stanton.

Glory fans will be sure to enjoy watching their team in action with dynamic duo Caitlin Foord and newly-named captain Sam Kerr in concert, while another local Ella Mastrantonio returns after several years interstate.

Perth Glory
Carla Bennett (Northern Redbacks, WA), Danielle Brogan (Adelaide United), Kim Carroll (Brisbane Roar), Caitlin Doeglas, Ella Mastrantonio (Melbourne Victory), Nikky Stanton (Sky Blue FC, USA)

Outs: Carys Hawkins, Bronwyn Studman (Canberra FC, ACT), Alanna Kennedy (Sydney FC), Gabrielle Marzano (Brisbane Roar), Kate Gill, Elisa D‘Ovidio (retired), Collette McCallum (retired), Shelina Zadorsky (Vittsjo, Sweden), Marianna Tabain (Melbourne Cit