Westfield W-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards to be held online this Thursday

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced that a special Westfield W-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards will be held virtually this Thursday (23 July 2020) via the Westfield W-League website (www.w-league.com.au) and Westfield W-League official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/thewleague).

Hosted by FOX SPORTS presenter Tara Rushton, the event will begin from 12pm (AEST) with the Julie Dolan Medal winner to be announced at 7:00pm (AEST).

FFA Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, was excited to recognise the outstanding achievements from the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season.

“During these challenging times, unfortunately it is has not been possible for us to gather for the traditional Dolan Warren Awards Gala event, but we will hero the magic of the Westfield W-League 2019/20 via an innovative virtual show,” said O’Rourke.

“There were plenty of amazing performances during the past Westfield W-League season and I hope the fans will be able to get behind this special Westfield W-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards.

“With the standard of football that we witnessed this season being so high, I am sure the award winners we announce on Thursday will be of the highest calibre,” concluded O’Rourke.

The Julie Dolan Medal is named in honour of the first captain of the Australian Women’s National Football Team, The Matildas, and is the highest accolade in the Westfield W-League.  This award is presented to the best player throughout the regular season, as judged by a panel of technical football experts, the media and the match officials (as a collective) who independently allocate players votes on a 3-2-1 basis after each match. FFA independently collates these votes into an official 3-2-1 vote for each match and at the end of the Westfield W-League Season all votes are tallied and the player or players who receive the most votes will be named the winner of the Julie Dolan Medal.

The other Westfield W-League 2019/20 awards to be presented throughout the day included the Fair Play Award, Referee of the Year Award, Golden Boot Award, Goal of the Year, Goal Keeper of the Year, Coach of the Year and Young Footballer of the Year.

Fans can also get involved using the hashtag #DolanWarren


Dolan Warren Awards 2020 – Westfield W-League edition


12:00pm – Welcome and Westfield W-League 2019/20 Fair Play Award

1:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Referee of the Year Award

2:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Golden Boot Award

3:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Goal of the Year

4:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Goal Keeper of the Year

5:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Coach of the Year

6:00pm – Westfield W-League 2019/20 Young Footballer of the Year

7:00pm – The Julie Dolan Medal


Note: All times are Australian Eastern Standard time (AEST)