Westfield W-League 2015/16 Round 4 Review

Melbourne City have opened up a five-point lead at the summit of the Westfield W-League thanks to another win, this time 4-2 over Canberra United.

City raced to an early 2-0 lead and a 3-1 half-time advantage over the reigning champions in the first start for high-profile recruit Kim Little.

Adelaide United jumped into second with perhaps the result of the weekend as the Lady Reds claimed a 4-0 win at Melbourne Victory that was built around a Rosie Sutton treble.

It was much tighter at Sydney FC where the Sky Blues triumphed over Perth Glory thanks to Kyah Simon’s early penalty.

Saturday’s lone match saw Western Sydney Wanderers claim their first win of the season as Canadian international Carmelina Moscato netted with almost the last touch of the contest for a 2-1 win in front of a big Newcastle Jets crowd.

The Westfield W-League resumes next weekend highlighted by Sunday’s Fox Sports/ABC TV match as Brisbane Roar host Perth Glory.

Newcastle Jets 1 (Jenna Kingsley 3’)
Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Chloe O’Brien, Carmelina Moscato 92’)

Saturday 7 November 2015
Magic Park, Broadmeadow, Newcastle
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis (Kobie Ferguson 92’), Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews, Rhali Dobson, Chloe Logarzo (Clare Wheeler 92’), Jenna Kingsley (Sophie Nenadovic 61’), Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – Hannah Bromley 78’

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Carmelina Moscato, Chloe O’Brien, Rachael Soutar, Helen Petinos (Alix Roberts 92’), Erica Halloway (Tara Pender 83’), Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard, Ellie Carpenter, Linda O’Neill (Elizabeth Grey 54’)

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Hannah Beard 35’, Keelin Winters 64’

Melbourne Victory 0
Adelaide United 4 (Rosie Sutton 14’, 55’, 68’, Tiarn Powell 33’)

Sunday 8 November 2015
Epping Stadium, Melbourne
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Katie Patterson

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandria Natoli, Briar Palmer (MelindaJ Barbieri 46’), Annabel Martin, Enza Barilla, Jamie Pollock, Christine Nairn, Laura Spiranovic (Cassandra Dimovski (gk) 67’), Hayley Raso, Jessica Pitts, Cindy Lay (Melissa Taranto 56’)

Substitutes – Sky Jensen

Cautions – Christine Nairn 66’

Red Card – Melissa Barbieri 66’

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion (Lorena Maggio 71’), Chantelle Ryder, Emily Condon (Marijana Rajcic 65’), Georgia Campagnale, Rosie Sutton (Allira Toby 71’), Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Tiarn Powell

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – none

Sydney FC 1 (Kyah Simon 14’ pen)
Perth Glory 0

Sunday 8 November 2015
Lambert Park, Sydney
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Ellyse Perry, Jasmyne Spencer, Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger (Natalie Tobin 91’), Amy Harrison, Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen (Sunny Franco 70’), Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis (Princess Ibini 93’)

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – Amy Harrison 68’, Kyah Simon 88’

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Kim Carroll, Katie Holtham, Shannon May, Carla Bennett, Nicole Stanton, Emily Henderson (Caitlin Foord 58’), Danielle Brogan, Thia Eastman (Shawn Billam 78’), Ella Mastrantonio, Sam Kerr (c)

Substitutes – Evangeline Gooch (gk), Catlin Doeglas

Cautions – Nicole Stanton 25’

Canberra United 2 (Ashleigh Sykes 29’, Michelle Heyman 60’)
Melbourne City 4 (Mariana Tabain 5’, Larissa Crummer 11’, Aivi Luik 41’, Kim Little 87’)

Sunday 8 November 2015
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Lara Lee

Canberra United: Lydia Williams (gk), Julia De Angelis (Meg McLaughlin 68’), Kendall Fletcher, Caitlin Munoz (Tegan Riding 84’), Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg (c), Ashleigh Sykes, Emma Checker, Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Jenna McCormick

Cautions – Caitlin Munoz 21’

Melbourne City: Trudy Burke (gk), Jennifer Beattie, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley, Kim Little (Alexandria Chidiac 92’), Larissa Crummer (Amy Jackson 81’), Jess Fishlock, Lisa De Vanna (c), Rebekah Stott, Marianna Tabain (Beattie Goad 63’)

Substitutes – Erin Herd (gk)

Cautions – none

Red Card: Lisa De Vanna 58’

Brisbane Roar – BYE