Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 5 Review

Perth Glory maintained their perfect record in the Westfield W-League to stay in top spot, while Western Sydney Wanderers grabbed their own share of the headlines with a landmark win over Brisbane Roar.

The Glory impressed with a 3-0 win over Canberra United to make it five wins from five starts. Kate Gill extended her goalscoring run to ten goals with a second-half double as the Glory recorded their first-ever victory over United.

Sydney FC remain on the Glory’s heels thanks to a 1-0 win at Newcastle Jets which keeps the Sky Blues within touching distance of top spot.

Sunday’s action was highlighted by the Wanderers somehow bouncing back from a club record 10-1 defeat last weekend to overcome two-time champions Brisbane on their own patch with a 2-1 scoreline.

The ABC televised match saw Melbourne Victory jump into third with a comprehensive 4-0 win over the visiting Adelaide United. Midfielder Amy Jackson scored her first Westfield W-League treble to add to Christine Nairn’s spectacular first-half strike.


Newcastle Jets 0

Sydney FC 1 (Jasmyne Spencer 28’)

Saturday 11 October 2014

Magic Park, Newcastle

Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Lara Smith

Newcastle Jet: Claire Coelho (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Hayley Crawford, Katherine Reynolds, Angela Salem, Tori Huster, Amber Neilson, Tara Andrews, Emily van Egmond, Rhali Dobson, Cassidy Davis

Substitutes – Hannah Southwell (gk), Sophie Nenadovic, Elizabeth Copus-Brown, Brooke Miller

Cautions – Hayley Crawford 77’

Sydney FC: Casey Dumont (gk), Teresa Polias, Alesha Clifford (Chloe Logarzo 46’), Jasmyne Spencer, Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger, Amy Harrison (Trudy Camilleri 86’), Renee Rollason, Natalie Tobin (Olivia Price 76’), Teigen Allen, Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk)

Cautions – Chloe Logarzo 68’


Perth Glory 3 (Shelina Zadorsky 14’, Kate Gill 61’, 80’)

Canberra United 0

Saturday 11 October 2014

Ashfield Sports Club, Perth

Local kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Kirralee Andruschack

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll (Carys Hawkins 89’), Bronwyn Studman, Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Elisa D’Ovidio (Shannon May 45’), Collette McCallum (Shawn Billam 75’), Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain, Sam Kerr

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – Elisa D’Ovidio 44’

Canberra United: Chantel Jones, Catherine Brown (Holly Houston 83’), Julia De Angelis (Tegan Riding 87’), Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey, Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Rebecca Kiting

Cautions – Ellie Brush 32’, Chantel Jones 61’


Brisbane Roar 1 (Tameka Butt 45’)

Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Michelle Carney 30’, Larissa Crummer o.g. 54’)

Sunday 12 October 2014

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Local kick-off: 1pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Brisbane Roar: Nadine Angerer (gk), Laura Alleway, Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence, Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Larissa Crummer (Sunny Franco 87’), Katrina Gorry, Tameka Butt, Angela Beard (Amy Chapman 61’), Ayesha Norrie (Emily Gielnik 46’)

Substitutes – Kate Stewart (gk)

Cautions – none

Western Sydney Wanderers: Trudy Burke (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Helen Petinos, Rachael Soutar, Kendall Johnson, Keelin Winters, Michelle Carney, Hannah Beard (Rhianna Pollicina 77’), Demi Koulizakis (Jordan Baker 46’, Grace Henry 90’), Linda O’Neill

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – Michelle Carney 65’, Rhianna Pollicina 90’


Melbourne Victory 4 (Christine Nairn 29’, Amy Jackson 59’, 87’, 89’)

Adelaide United 0

Sunday 12 October 2014

Lakeside Stadium, Melbourne

Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Melbourne Victory: Brianna Davey (gk), Hannah Brewer (Beattie Goad 75’), Lauren Barnes, Stephanie Catley, Gema Simon, Amy Jackson, Christine Nairn, Lisa De Vanna, (Tiffany Eliadis 80’), Ella Mastrantonio, Emma Checker, Elli Reed

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk), Gulcan Koca

Cautions – none

Adelaide United: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Lauren Steer (Alexandra Chidiac 65’), Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon, Lisa-Marie Woods, Isabel Hodgson (Jessie Wharepouri 87’), Daila-Tais Borg, Rachel Alonso (Tiarn Powell 51’), Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham, Kristy Moore

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk)

Cautions – none

Westfield W-League ladder: http://www.w-league.com.au/ladder