Westfield W-League 2010/11 Week 1 Preview

The Westfield W-League has returned for season three

The Westfield W-League has returned for season three and what an exciting first weekend of football we have ahead.

First up it-s the Westfield W-League 2009 Grand Final rematch between Brisbane Roar and champions Sydney FC at Ballymore Stadium, broadcast live and exclusive on ABC1 at 3.00pm AEDT (Match kicks off in Brisbane at 2.00pm local).

Then it-s off to Hindmarsh Stadium in Adelaide when the Lady Reds look to kick start their season with a bang against the new look Newcastle Jets outfit.

On Sunday, Perth Glory host the green machine, Canberra United, in a match that pits two of the toughest line-ups in the competition against each other.

This is the Official Preview for Week 1 of the Westfield W-League 2010/11 season. Please note that squads are subject to change.

Accredited media wishing to attend any Westfield W-League match should let the relevant club media contact know. Media are also encouraged to contact the respective club media manager for further club specific information or clarification. For fixtures, reports or for further information click here.

Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Saturday, 6 November, 2010
Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
Local kick-off: 2pm (3.00pm AEDT)
Referee: Jacqui Melksham

Live and exclusive on ABC1 from 3.00pm AEDT

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Casey Dumont (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Karla REUTER, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (C), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Kim CARROLL, 7. Joanne BURGESS, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Alisha FOOTE, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Aivi LUIK, 12. Rebekah STOTT, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Amy CHAPMAN, 15. Erika ELZE, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 20 Kate Stewart (gk)
*two to be omitted*

In: Laura ALLEWAY (from Melbourne Victory), Kim CARROLL (returns from injury), Rebekah STOTT (New to the Westfield W-League), Amy CHAPMAN (returns from injury), Erika ELZE (New to the Westfield W-League), Emily GEILNIK(New to the Westfield W-League)

Sydney FC squad : 1. Dimi POULOS (gk), 2. Teresa POLIAS, 3. Danielle BROGAN, 4. Alesha CLIFFORD, 7. Heather GARRIOCK (c), 8. Renee ROLLASON, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Kylie LEDBROOK, 11. Lydia VANDENBERGH, 13. Catherine CANNULI, 15. Teigen ALLEN, 16. Linda O-NEILL, 17. Kyah SIMON, 19. Leena KHAMIS, 20. Erin HERD (gk)

Ins: Dimi POULOS (gk) (New to the Westfield W-League – Australian via USA/Spain), Teresa POLIAS (from Central Coast Mariners), Renee ROLLASON (from Central Coast Mariners), Caitlin FOORD (New to the Westfield W-League), Lydia VANDENBERGH (from Central Coast Mariners), Erin HERD (New to the Westfield W-League)

Adelaide United v Newcastle Jets
Saturday, 6 November, 2010
Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide
Local kick-off: 2.30pm (3.00pm AEDT)
Referee: Stacey Sasopolous

Adelaide United squad: 1.Sian McLAREN (gk), 2.Ashleigh GUNNING, 4.Ruth BLACKBURN, 5.Stacey DAY, 7.Racheal QUIGLEY, 8.Katrina GORRY, 9.Ruth WALLACE, 10.Victoria BALOMENOS, 11.Vedrana POPOVIC, 12.Selin KURALAY, 13.Loren MAHONEY, 14.Donna COCKAYNE, 15.Katherine EBBS, 16.Christina PAPAGEORGIOU (c), 17.Angela FIMMANO, 18.Georgia MACRI, 19.Nenita BURGESS, 20.Kristi HARVEY (gk)
*three to be omitted*

Ins: Stacey DAY (from Newcastle Jets), Katrina GORRY (from Melbourne Victory), Victoria BALOMENOS (returns from injury), Vedrana POPOVIC (from Melbourne Victory), Loren MAHONEY (from Newcastle Jets)

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Allison LIPSHER(GK), 2. Hannah BREWER, 3. Hayley CRAWFORD, 5. Gema SIMON, 6. Renee CARTWRIGHT, 8. Amber NEILSON, 9. Sasha McDONNELL, 10. Leia SMITH, 11. Kara MOWBRAY, 12. Melissa FEUERRIEGEL, 13. Thea SLATYER, 16. Kate HENSMAN, 17. Alex HUYNH, 20. Alison LOGUE (GK)

Ins: Allison LIPSHER(GK) (New to the Westfield W-League – USA), Sasha McDONNELL (from Brisbane Roar), Kara MOWBRAY (from Melbourne Victory), Thea SLATYER (from Canberra United), Alex HUYNH (New to the Westfield W-League)

Perth Glory v Canberra United
Sunday, 7 November 2010
6PR Stadium, Perth
Local kick-off: 3.00pm (6.00pm AEDT)
Referee: Catherine Hoffman

Perth Glory squad: 1. Tine CEDERKVIST, 2. Stacey LEARMONT, 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Samantha KERR, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Alexandra SINGER, 7. Alexandra NILSSON, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (c), 11. Lara FILOCAMO, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 15. Jaymee GIBBONS, 16. Sadie LAWRENCE, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 19. Emily DUNN, 20. Kathleen WAYCOTT
*one to be omitted*

Ins: Tine CEDERKVIST (New to the Westfield W-League – Denmark), Stacey LEARMONT (returns following season away), Alexandra NILSSON (New to the Westfield W-League – Sweden)
Unavailable: Collette McCALLUM (overseas – 1 week)

Canberra United squad: 1. Lydia Williams (gk), 2. Caitlin Cooper, 3. Lyndsay Glohe, 4. Michelle Heyman, 5. Kahlia Hogg, 6. Caitlin Munoz, 7. Ellie Brush, 8. Tseng Shu-O, 9. Grace Gill, 10. Emily Van Egmond, 11. Cian Maciejewski, 15. Sally Shipard, 16. Ellyse Perry, 19. Jennifer Bisset, 20. Jocelyn Mara (gk)

Ins: Caitlin Cooper (from Central Coast Mariners), Lyndsay Glohe (from Central Coast Mariners), Michelle Heyman (from Central Coast Mariners), Caitlin Munoz (returns from injury), Sally Shipard (New to the Westfield W-League)
Unavailable: Nicole Sykes (injured), Ashleigh Sykes (injured)