W-League Preview: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC

It is arguably the highlight of any Westfield W-League fixture list as Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC square-off.

Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Sunday 22 December 2013
Goodwin Park, Brisbane
Local kick-off: 3pm (4pm AEDT)

It is arguably the highlight of any Westfield W-League fixture list as Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC square-off. The pair are perennially title challengers – having won four of the five championships – , and both are on course for another shot at Grand Final glory.

Brisbane Roar head into the match on the back of one of the great Westfield W-League upsets following that 1-0 home reversal against a rejuvenated Adelaide United last weekend. The challenge now is for Belinda Wilson-s charges to refind their form and bounce back from that result. They are set to have Tameka Butt available again, but on the debit side fellow Matilda Laura Alleway will be forced to sit this one out after her red card last weekend.

The Sky Blues lacked just a little of their usual spark last weekend with coach Alen Stajcic describing his side as ‘physically and emotionally tired- after their fortnight in Japan at the International Women-s Club Championship. New Zealand international defender Anna Green has added more stability to the backline, while there is an embarrassment of riches in attack with Jodie Taylor and Leena Khamis available again after injury. A major plus out of last week-s 1-1 draw against Melbourne Victory was the return of teenage wunderkind Caitlin Foord from a five-month injury absence.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 15. Brooke GOODRICH, 16. Hayley RASO, 18. Sunny FRANCO, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk) (two to be omitted)

Ins: Brooke Goodrich, Sunny Franco (both promoted)

Outs: Laure Alleway (suspended)

Unavailable: Emily Gielnik (quad – one week), Tameka Butt (injured – 1 week)

Sydney FC squad: Casey Dumont (gk), Anna Green, Alesha Clifford, Ellyse Perry, Amy Harrison, Caitlin Foord, Teresa Polias, Nicola Bolger, Renee Rollason, Sam Kerr, Jodie Taylor, Emma Kete, Leena Khamis, Trudy Camilleri, Sham Khamis (gk), Chloe Logarzo (one to be omitted)

Ins: Leena Khamis, Jodie Taylor (both return from injury)

Outs: None

Unavailable: Danielle Brogan (ankle)

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague