Victory take control of Westfield W-League outfit

After seven years of a joint venture relationship with Football Federation Victoria, Melbourne Victory has assumed all management responsibilities of its Westfield W-League team operations for the upcoming 2015/16 season.

This will see Victory’s team operations streamlined and sit alongside the club’s Hyundai A-League, Foxtel National Youth League and PlayStation 4 National Premier League teams.

Melbourne Victory’s 2015/16 Westfield W-League season commences at Broadmeadows Valley Park on Saturday, October 17 against Perth Glory under the guidance of newly appointed coach, Dave Edmondson.

In making the announcement, Melbourne Victory Chief Executive Ian Robson said the integration of the W-League team into the club’s whole-of-football environment was a positive step forward.

Victory players celebrate a goal in their 4-0 win over Newcastle Jets.

“The prominence of women’s football is growing all the time and we are thrilled to be able to bring the team under our care and help to further enhance the profile of the Melbourne Victory players and women’s football in general,” Robson said.

“Given our commitment to the development of players within our elite football program at all levels, we believe the decision to manage the W-League team operation is a pivotal one for the club.

“It is also wonderful to welcome Dave Edmondson back as head coach. Dave was at the helm for the successful W-League Championship campaign in 2013/14 and in conjunction with Dave, we look forward to announcing our 2015/16 squad shortly.”

“I would like to express our sincere thanks to Football Federation Victoria for our working relationship, the manner in which they have managed the team operations and also grown the identity of Melbourne Victory’s W-League team since 2008.

Melbourne Victory’s Westfield W-League played in two consecutive Grand Finals in 2012/13 and 2013/14, winning the club’s only Championship in 2014, defeating Brisbane Roar at Lakeside Stadium.

The club will announce the Melbourne Victory W-League squad from Monday, October 6.