Victory announces Foxtel National Youth League squad

Melbourne Victory Football Club has announced its Foxtel National Youth League squad for the 2015/16 season, which commences this Saturday, November 7 against Adelaide United in Adelaide.

The squad comprises of 15 contracted players that will compete in a revamped Foxtel National Youth League competition involving eight matches in a four-team conference format.

Melbourne Victory‘s conference sees them play two games against each of Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne City and Perth Glory, the final one of which will be a Hyundai A-League curtain-raiser against Roar on January 15.

Melbourne Victory CEO Ian Robson said the squad boasts quality young talent that will be nurtured through the club’s youth development program.

“Many of the players named in the squad have been in our development system for a number of seasons already and we have witnessed some of them graduate to Hyundai A-League representation at our club or national duty for Australia, which we are very proud of,” Robson said.

“In the past 12 months, youngsters such as Thomas Deng, George Howard and Kieran Dover have all debuted at A-League level while Lucas Derrick, Pierce Waring and Jonathan Vakirtzis recently represented the national Joeys team at the 2015 U-17 World Cup.

“These are all young men who have progressed through our development program and it is a credit to the coaches and support staff within our youth environment to achieve these successes.

“Thomas, George and Lucas Spinella have all been rewarded for their continued improvement with A-League contracts this season, which is testimony to their commitment.”

In a further boost for Victory’s youth development program, the club, through its youth squad, will be represented in the top-tier PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria after earning promotion from the NPL 1 East competition last season.

“The manner in which these young men conducted and applied themselves throughout the long and arduous inaugural NPL season is a credit to them and the club acknowledges their incredible achievement,” Robson said.

In addition to its contracted Foxtel National Youth League players, Victory will have an additional 19 players train with the squad who are part of the club’s extended youth program.

Melbourne Victory Foxtel National Youth League contracted squad: Jordan BROWN, Christian CAVALLO, Wyatt CHANT, Thomas DENG*, Lucas DERRICK, Kieran DOVER, Anthony DUZEL, Callum GOULDING, Joseph KATEBIAN, John MACLEAN, Damien MISKULIN, Stefan NIGRO, Dion PAOLA, Lucas SPINELLA*, Pierce WARING (*Hyundai A-League contracted youth player)