Valeri named Victory’s best

Melbourne Victory captain Carl Valeri has taken home the 2016/17 Victory Medal, the club’s highest individual honour at its annual awards night.

Valeri received 62 votes, seven ahead of James Troisi (55) in second place, with Marco Rojas third on 37 votes.

Victory Medal votes were independently cast on a 3-2-1 basis by head coach Kevin Muscat and assistant coach Jean-Paul de Marigny after each Hyundai A-League game, including the Finals Series.

Valeri played 27 times during the club’s Hyundai A-League 2016/17 campaign, polling in 20 games and being awarded maximum votes on 11 occasions.

Midfield: Carl Valeri (Victory)

In other Hyundai A-League awards, Marco Rojas was voted the Players’ Player of the Year and also took home the TCL UHD Android TV Goal of the Season for his stunner in Round 23 against Perth Glory, as voted by Victory members and fans.

Besart Berisha claimed the TAC Golden Boot after scoring a club-record 21 goals this season.

Cameron McGilp collected the Victory Youth Medal, while Pierce Waring claimed the Foxtel National Youth League TAC Golden Boot following his six-goal season.

Melbourne Victory 2016/17 Honour Roll

Victory Medal
1. Carl Valeri (62 votes)
2. James Troisi (55)
3. Marco Rojas (37)
4. Alan Baro (34)
5. Besart Berisha (28)

Other Hyundai A-League awards
Players’ Player of the Year – Marco Rojas
TCL UHD Android TV Goal of the Season – Marco Rojas (Round 23 v Perth Glory)
TAC Golden Boot – Besart Berisha (21 goals)