Sydney FC set new Australian record with Grand Final success

Sydney FC became the first Australian club to win five national Championships on Sunday evening, defeating Melbourne City FC 1-0 after extra-time at Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta as the 43rd season of Australian national league football came to a close. 

The Sky Blues, who claimed their victory courtesy of a 100th minute chested goal from Socceroo Rhyan Grant after a pinpoint pass from Luke Brattan, overtook Sydney City, Marconi Stallions, South Melbourne FC, and Melbourne Victory (four Championships each) as the club with the most men’s domestic Championships following their victory in Parramatta.

Sydney’s Grand Final triumph was the club’s third in the past four seasons, and adds to a remarkable period of success for the men from Moore Park Road, with the club having also claimed three Hyundai A-League Premierships and an FFA Cup crown since 2017. 

Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chief Executive Officer James Johnson congratulated Sydney FC for winning the club’s fifth Hyundai A-League Championship, and acknowledged Melbourne City FC for their exceptional effort to reach the Hyundai A-League’s showpiece match.

“On behalf of FFA we congratulate and commend Sydney FC for winning the club’s fifth Hyundai A-League Championship,” Johnson said. “To win three of the past four Hyundai A-League Championships, together with three of the past four Hyundai A-League Premierships is testament to everyone involved with the club.

“We congratulate Sydney FC’s Head Coach Steve Corica, his players, owners David Traktovenko and Scott Barlow, Chief Executive Officer Danny Townsend, and all the staff, members and supporters of the club for their success.

“Melbourne City FC enjoyed their strongest season as a club this season, and we also recognise them for reaching the decider. In a tight Grand Final Erick Mombaerts’ men fell just short, however they ought to be proud of their contribution to the competition – their thrilling play throughout the 2019/20 season will live long in the memories of Australian football fans,” Johnson concluded.

Goalscorer Grant won the esteemed Joe Marston Medal for the player voted as best on ground by media present at the Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

Hyundai A-League 2020 Grand Final Match Summary

Sydney FC 1 (Grant 100’)

Melbourne City FC 0 

Venue: Bankwest Stadium, Parramatta 
Referee: Chris Beath 

Sydney FC: 1. Andrew REDMAYNE (Gk), 4. Alex WILKINSON, 6. Ryan MCGOWAN, 8. Paulo RETRE, 9. Adam LE FONDRE, 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Kosta BARBAROUSES (12. Trent BUHAGIAR 87’), 16. Joel KING, 17. Anthony CACERES (5. Alexander BAUMJOHANN 87’), 23. Rhyan GRANT, 26. Luke BRATTAN 
Substitutes not used: 3. Benjamin WARLAND, 18. Luke IVANOVIC, 19. Christopher ZUVELA, 21. Harry VAN DER SAAG, 20. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (Gk)
Yellow cards: Retre 53’, Grant 90+7’ 
Red cards: Nil 

Melbourne City FC: 1. Thomas GLOVER (Gk), 4. Harrison DELBRIDGE (2. Scott GALLOWAY 72’), 6. Joshua BRILLANTE, 10. Florin BERENGUER-BOHRER (34. Connor METCALFE 77’), 11. Craig NOONE (49. Stefan COLAKOVSKI 105’), 13. Nathaniel ATKINSON, 19. Lachlan WALES (21. Ramy NAJJARINE 86’), 20. Adrian LUNA, 22. Curtis GOOD, 40. Richard WINDBICHLER (7. Rostyn GRIFFITHS 116’)
Substitutes not used: 30. Moudi NAJJAR, 46. Joe GAUCI (Gk) 
Yellow cards: Windbichler 103’, Atkinson 117’
Red cards: Nil