Sydney FC complete remarkable double success in 2018/19 Season

Sydney FC created their own little piece of history after their Hyundai A-League Grand Final win on Sunday night – and their Westfield W-League side also played their part.

The Sky Blues’ thrilling penalty-shootout win over Perth Glory means the Harbour City club are champions in both the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League in the 2018/19 Season.


It’s just the second time a club has won both the men’s and women’s titles in the same season after Brisbane Roar did it in 2010/11.

Ante Juric’s Sky Blues women’s team played their part in the success for the club by winning the Westfield W-League decider back in February.

In an entertaining decider, Sydney FC prevailed 4-2 – also over Perth Glory – thanks to goals from Savannah McCaskill (two), Sofia Huerta and Chloe Logarzo.

MOTHER’S DAY: Tears and cheers as Hayley Raso makes Mother’s Day
HEFFERNAN’S PLEDGE: ‘Wanderers no longer making up the numbers’

Not to be outdone, Steve Corica’s Hyundai A-League outfit completed the double in gripping fashion in front of a record Grand Final crowd at Optus Stadium.

After scores were locked at 0-0 after 120 minutes, keeper Andrew Redmayne pulled off two sensational saves in the shootout as the Sky Blues won 4-1 on penalties.

Savannah McCaskill