Sky Blues outclass Glory to extend lead at top

Sydney FC scored three second-half goals in inflicting a heavy 4-1 defeat on Perth Glory FC at nib Stadium on Saturday night.

Perth led for fewer than 90 seconds in the first-half before Sydney took full control after the restart to extend their lead to seven points atop the Hyundai A-League ladder.

The hosts grabbed a morale-boosting opener in the 20th minute when Adam Taggart turned home an intricate team move, only for Sydney skipper Alex Brosque to immediately equalise with a fine finish at the other end.

Filip Holosko then headed the visitors into the lead on the hour as former Glory goalkeeper Danny Vukovic returned to haunt his old club with a string of top saves.

Graham Arnold’s side exhibited their power in the final 20 minutes as Bobo and substitute Bernie Ibini piled the pain on Perth, who have now suffered back-to-back home defeats.

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here


1-0 Glory: Taggart, 20’

Josh Risdon, Andy Keogh and Brandon Wilson were all involved in working the ball in from the right and on to a platter for Taggart to slide home at close-range.

1-1 Sydney: Brosque, 21’

Sydney responded instantly as Ninkovic and Bobo combined with class to find Brosque in space on the left, with the skipper drilling a clinical finish into the bottom far corner.

1-2 Sydney: Holosko, 61’

Alex Brosque’s teasing left-wing delivery was met well by Filip Holosko, who firmly headed back across Liam Reddy and into the far corner.

1-3: Sydney: Bobo, 71’

Milos Ninkovic slipped a perfect pass into the feet of Bobo, who rolled off the shoulder of his marker and picked out the top corner with his left foot.

1-4 Sydney: Ibini, 90’+1

Bernie Ibini came off the bench to win and lash home his own penalty in stoppage time.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @PerthGloryFC, @SydneyFC, #PERvSYD