Sky Blues crowned Foxtel NYL Champions

Sydney FC have been crowned Foxtel National Youth League Champions for the third time thanks to a 5-2 Grand Final win over Adelaide United at Central Coast Stadium.

Sydney FC NYL (Mullen 12’,49, Zuvela 23’, Burgess 40’, Gonzalez 56’) Adelaide United NYL (Tratt og 32’, Altundag 61’)

The Sky Blues sealed their second title in three years with a two goal brace from Alex Mullen along with strikes from Chris Zuvela, Max Burgess and Cristian Gonzalez.

Head Coach Robbie Stanton wins the trophy in his first year in charge of the young Sky Blues who will now head into their NSW National Premier League 2 campaign.

What They Said

Head Coach Robbie Stanton: “I thought it would have been a little bit tighter but we were quite ruthless going forward and I thought we were really on song today, at times we looked like we were going to score every time we went forward.

“In the end we took a lot of those chances so it’s very pleasing day and I think we had a very good day and maybe they were a little bit off.”

Captain Yianni Spyrakis:   “The boys came out and from the start we were ready to go and five goals shows we ran over the top of them in the end.”

Alex Mullen celebrates his opening goal


12’ MULLEN GOAL – Araujo plays a ball down the flank to Kuleski who gets to the byline inside the box and pulls the ball back to the unmarked Mullen who calmly side foots home.

23’ ZUVELA GOAL – Araujo uses his strength on the right hand side of the box to get some space and cross to the unmarked Zuvela who hits the ball into the roof of the net from 3 yards.

32 ’ TRATT OWN GOAL – A right wing Adelaide corner is floated into the danger zone and hits Tratt above the thigh which diverts the ball past Bouzanis into the roof of the net.

40’ BURGESS GOAL – Burgess attempts to play in Araujo on the edge of the box but the pass is blocked and he picks up the rebound, beats a player and drills the ball with his left foot into the bottom left hand corner.

49’ MULLEN GOAL – Gonzalez puts a corner into the box and Mullen rises to head home.

56’ GONZALEZ GOAL – A wonderful curling corner kick from Cristian Gonzalez evades the Adelaide keeper and goes into the far post.

61’ ALTUNDAG GOAL – Altundag battles through three Sydney FC challenges and beats Bouzanis with a cool strike.

Congratulations @SydneyFC Youth Team – champions for the 3rd time! #NYLGF #SydneyIsSkyBlue #MadeUsProud

Sydney FC: 1. Anthony BOUZANIS (20. Nicholas SORRAS (gk) 90’), 2. George TIMOTHEOU, 5. Yianni SPYRAKIS ©, 6. Nicola KULESKI (3. Liam MCGING 80’), 7. Daniel ARAUJO, 8. Max BURGESS, 9. Bai ANTONIOU,  14. Cristian GONZALEZ, 15. Jacob TRATT (12. Charles LOKOLI NGOY 85’), 16. Alex MULLEN, 17. Chris ZUVELA (18. Emmanuel GONZALEZ 72’).

Adelaide United: 1. Daniel MARGUSH (gk), 3. Ruon TONGYIK, 5. Oliver ZAFIRIDIS, 7. Antoni TRIMBOLI, 8. Jordan O’DOHERTY, 10. Dylan SMITH (9. Donovan POLLOCK 67’), 11. Samed ALTUNDAG, 12. Mark OCHIENG, 14. Adam PISCIONERI ©, 16. Riley MCGREE (4. Jordan PUDLER 45’), 17. Thomas LOVE (18. Jordan ELLIOTT 70’).