Signing news: Glory secure star midfielder

Perth Glory have announced a major coup with the re-signing of Spanish superstar Diego Castro to a new one-year Hyundai A-League contract.

The news was revealed at Glory’s annual awards night where Castro claimed his second straight player of the season award. 

Castro was the runaway leader after round 16, polling a total of 44 votes, leaving his closest rival Josh Risdon well behind on 21. Andy Keogh and captain Rostyn Griffiths tied for third spot.

Castro equalled a club record breaking tally of five individual trophies he set last year, including:

• QBE Most Glorious Player 
• Golden Boot Trophy (joint with Adam Taggart and Andy Keogh 12-goals)
• Players’ Player of the Year 
• Volunteers’ Player of the Year 
• Member’s Player of the Year

The 34-year old El Maestro was also named in Perth Glory’s Ultimate XI team which celebrated the club’s best players in its 20th anniversary season.

“To win the MGP once is amazing and to go back to back is unbelievable,” Castro said.

Perth Glory players celebrate Diego Castro's superlative equaliser against the Phoenix on Saturday.

“I share this honour with my teammates and coaches, staff and members because it is they who come and support me and the team week-in week-out.

“The last two seasons in Perth has been a beautiful experience for my family and me and hopefully next year we can go all the way and grab the ultimate prize.”

Dead ball specialist Nebojsa Marinkovic took out the trophy for “Goal of the Year” for his stunning free-kick against Melbourne City in the last round of the season, while recently retired and former captain Richard Garcia was named as “Best Clubman”.


  • QBE Most Glorious Player:  Diego Castro
  • Women’s Most Glorious Player:  Samantha Kerr
  • Most Glorious Youth League Player (NYL):  Joe Knowles
  • Bobby Despotovski Golden Boot:  Diego Castro, Adam Taggart and Andy Keogh (12 goals)
  • Women’s Golden Boot:  Samantha Kerr (10 goals)
  • Members’ Player of the Year:  Diego Castro
  • Volunteers’ Player of the Year:  Diego Castro
  • Players’ Player of the Year:  Diego Castro
  • Goal-of-the-Year:  Nebojsa Marinkovic
  • Women’s Coach’s Award:  Natasha Rigby
  • Best Clubman Award : Richard Garcia

Perth Glory Ultimate XI- 1996/97-2016/17

  • Goalkeeper: Jason Petkovic
  • Defenders: Josh Risdon, Jamie Harnwell (c), Andy Todd, Scott Miller
  • Midfielders: Jacob Burns, Gareth Naven, Diego Castro, Ivan Ergic
  • Strikers: Bobby Despotovski, Damian Mori
  • Coach: Mich D’Avray
  • Substitutes: Danny Vukovic, Michael Thwaite, Matt Horsley, Troy Halpin, Andy Keogh,