Semi-final line-up finalised – Round 14 Review

Brisbane Roar set up a semi-final meeting with Melbourne City after holding off Newcastle Jets in a final-round battle for the remaining available spot in the Westfield W-League finals series.

The other semi-final will see second-placed Canberra United host third-placed Sydney FC at Belconnen’s McKellar Park on Sunday 24 January.

Melbourne City will play host to the Roar at AAMI Park on Monday 25 January, with the two winners to meet in the Westfield W-League Grand Final on Sunday 31 January.

All finals series matches will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports and ABC TV.

Sunday saw the Jets and the Roar played out a tense scoreless draw at Hunter Stadium in what was effectively a play-off for fourth.

The point was enough to ensure the Roar ended three points clear of both the Jets and Adelaide United.

The Lady Reds’ hopes of a maiden semi-final appearance ended on Friday with a 1-1 draw against Canberra United.

On Saturday, Melbourne City became the first Westfield W-League team to win every match in the regular season thanks to a 2-1 home victory over Sydney FC. City made it a perfect dozen thanks to a late winner from Marianna Tabain.

Western Sydney Wanderers scored late goals for a 2-0 win over last season’s premiers Perth Glory to leapfrog their opponents into seventh.

Westfield W-League semi-finals

Melbourne City v Brisbane Roar
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Monday 25 January 2016
Kick-off: 4:30pm
(Hyundai A-League double-header – Melbourne City v Wellington Phoenix)
Tickets from Ticketek

Canberra United v Sydney FC                                                          
McKellar Park, Canberra
Sunday 24 January 2016
Kick-off: 2pm
Ticket details as follows:


Adelaide United 1 (Abby Dahlkemper 43’)
Canberra United 1 (Veronica Perez 23’ pen)

Friday 15 January 2016
Adelaide Shores Football Centre
Kick-off: 7pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Sarah Killion, Emily Condon, Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abby Dahlkemper, Grace Abbey (Georgia Campagnale 82’), Tiarn Powell (Allira Toby 56’), Lorena Maggio (Gabrielle Bentley 87’), Isabel Hodgson

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – Elizabeth Milne 22’, Sarah Killion 75’

Canberra United: Lydia Williams (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Jenna McCormick, Caitlin Munoz (Julia De Angelis 83’), Ellie Brush (c), Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Tegan Riding (Nickoletta Flannery 59’), Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Grace Maher

Cautions – none

Melbourne City 2 (Alanna Kennedy 52’ own goal, Marianna Tabain 85’)
Sydney FC 1 (Princess Ibini 71’)

Saturday 16 January 2016
C.B. Smith Reserve, Fawkner, Melbourne
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Katie Patterson

Melbourne City: Brianna Davey (gk), Alexandra Chidiac (Anisa Guajardo 82’), Jennifer Beattie, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley, Kim Little, Jess Fishlock (c), Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson, Beattie Goad (Melina Ayres 91’), Marianna Tabain

Substitutes – Trudy Burke (gk), Laura Alleway

Cautions – none

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Jasmyne Spencer (Sunny Franco 72’), Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger, Princess Ibini, Natalie Tobin, Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen (Renee Rollason 46’), Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis (Olivia Price 61’)

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – Liz Ralston 30’

Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Erica Halloway 87’, Hannah Beard 91’)
Perth Glory 0

Sunday 17 January 2016
Popondetta Park, Sydney
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Western Sydney Wanderers: Teagan Micah (gk), Caitlin Cooper (c) (Chloe O’Brien 80’), Carmelina Moscato, Rachael Souter (Demi Koulizakis 69’), Erica Halloway, Liz Grey (Hannah Beard 64’), Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters, Eliza Ammendolia, Ellie Carpenter, Alix Roberts

Substitutes – Lisa Farrington (gk)

Cautions – Michelle Carney 46’, Demi Koulizakis 72’, Caitlin Cooper 80’, Eliza Ammendolia 89’

Perth Glory: Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Sarah Carroll (Angelique Stannett 69’), Kim Carroll (c), Shannon May, Carla Bennett, Nicole Stanton, Shawn Billam (Katie Holtham 56’), Danielle Brogan, Caitlin Doeglas (Emily Henderson 26’), Thia Eastman, Vanessa DiBernardo

Substitutes – Evangeline Gooch (gk)

Cautions – Thia Eastman 29’

Newcastle Jets 0
Brisbane Roar 0

Sunday 17 January 2016
Hunter Stadium, Newcastle
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Sophie Nenadovic (Elizabeth Copus-Brown 73’), Georgia Yeoman-Dale (Clare Wheeler 71’), Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews, Chloe Logarzo, Brooke Miller, Jenna Kingsley (Rhali Dobson 64’)

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – none

Brisbane Roar: Haley Kopmeyer (gk), Amy Chapman (Sofie Persson 86’), Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard, Gabrielle Marzano (Alisha Foote 68’), Katrina Gorry, Kirsty Yallop, Tameka Butt, Summer O’Brien, Ruth Blackburn, Emily Gielnik (Ayesha Norrie 80’)

Substitutes – Carrie Simpson (gk)

Cautions – Katrina Gorry 31’, Kirsty Yallop 61′

Melbourne Victory – BYE