Season 2014/15 Hyundai A-League draw revealed

The tenth season of the Hyundai A-League will be huge and it opens in round one with the Wanderers visiting Victory while Melbourne City’s superstar line-up head to Sydney FC. And across the season exciting new features are set to make this the biggest season ever.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today released the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Season Draw showcasing 30 weeks of top-class football that will reinforce the competition’s position as Australian sports fastest growing success story.

Opening the 10th season of the Hyundai A-League will be the mouth-watering clash between Melbourne Victory and the Western Sydney Wanderers at Etihad Stadium.

This will be followed by the F3 Derby between the Central Coast Mariners and Newcastle Jets at Central Coast Stadium on Saturday 11 October with Sydney FC hosting Melbourne City at Allianz Stadium later that evening.

On Sunday 12 October, Perth Glory will make the trip to Westpac Stadium to face the Wellington Phoenix with the opening round to be completed when the defending Hyundai A-League Premiers & Champions, Brisbane Roar, meet Adelaide United at Suncorp Stadium.

For the full Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Season Draw click here

Foundation broadcast partner Fox Sports will show all matches of the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Season and Hyundai A-League 2015 Finals Series exclusively live, with the Friday night matches once again shared with SBS.

SBS will also broadcast the Hyundai A-League 2015 Finals Series on a one-hour delay.

Speaking at today’s announcement, the Head of the Hyundai A-League Damien de Bohun, was proud to unveil the 10th edition of the Hyundai A-League draw.

“This has been the most challenging draw to produce in the history of the competition,” said de Bohun.

“We have taken into consideration an unprecedented number of factors which include the AFC Asian Cup 2015, Westfield FFA Cup and AFC Champions League.

“With all things considered, we believe we have created a fair and equitable draw which will excite the growing legion of members and fans across the Hyundai A-League.

“During the off-season we have already seen a number of fantastic signings by Hyundai A-League clubs, none bigger than Spanish International and World Cup winner David Villa who will be playing for Melbourne City.

“With more significant signings to follow, I am genuinely excited about the upcoming season and the quality of football that will be on offer,” continued de Bohun.

The key features of the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Season draw include:

·         Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Season to kick off with Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers at Etihad Stadium in Melbourne on Friday 10 October 2014

·         Round 1 to feature the F3 Derby between the Central Coast Mariners v Newcastle Jets at Central Coast Stadium in Gosford

·         Melbourne City will play their first official Hyundai A-League match against Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium in Round 1

·         Adelaide United will host Melbourne Victory at the refurbished Adelaide Oval on Friday night in Round 2

·         Melbourne City to play their first home match in their new home strip in Round 2

·         Re-match of the Hyundai A-League 2014 Grand Final between the Western Sydney Wanderers and Brisbane Roar at Pirtek Stadium in Round 4

·         A series of major derby and rivalry matches distributed throughout the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season in Rounds 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 11, 12, 17, 18, 20 and 23.

o    F3 Derby (Central Coast Mariners v Newcastle Jets) – Rounds 1, 8 and 20

o    Sydney Derby (Sydney FC v Western Sydney Wanderers) – Rounds 2, 8 and 20

o    Melbourne Derby (Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory) – Rounds 3, 12 and 17

o    Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory – Rounds 2, 8, 23

o    Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC – Rounds 6, 11, and 18

·         Three derby or rivalry matches in Round 8 – Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United, Sydney Derby and F3 Derby

·         Round 9 to be a split round to be played mid-week from 3 December 2014 – Wednesday 25 March 2015

·         First of the Thursday Night Football matches to be played in Round 10 with other Thursday Night Football matches scheduled for Rounds 14, 22 and 25

·         There will be no Sunday match in Round 11 due to the scheduling of the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup Final on Tuesday 16 December 2014

·         “The Summer of Football” calendar will see 21 matches played over 22 days (from 19 December to 8 January), including

o    Boxing Day – Melbourne City v Perth Glory at AAMI Park & Sydney FC v Adelaide United @ Allianz Stadium

o    New Year’s Eve – Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix at Coopers Stadium

o    New Year’s Day – Western Sydney Wanderers v Central Coast Mariners at Pirtek Stadium

·         The first ever Hyundai A-League match at Simonds Stadium in Geelong will be played in Round 14 between Melbourne Victory and Perth Glory on Friday 2 January 2015

·         Break for the AFC Asian Cup 2015

·         Fixtures in Rounds 17-27 take into account the AFC Champions League Match Days for Brisbane Roar, Western Sydney Wanderers and Central Coast Mariners

·         Hyundai A-League 2015 Finals Series will be begin on the weekend of 24-26 April 2015

·         Hyundai A-League 2015 Grand Final will be played on Sunday 10 May 2015

For all membership, ticketing, news and match information including exclusive behind-the-scenes content on the Hyundai A-League visit

Keep up to date with the Hyundai A-League on social media using the hashtag #ALeagueFixtures