Round 3 Preview: Brisbane Roar v Canberra United

Canberra United have made a habit of leaving it late but the Westfield W-League leaders may need to find something extra to pierce the armour of Brisbane Roar.

The Green Machine have made a perfect start to the 2020/21 season by scoring last-gasp winners to see off the challenges of Melbourne City and Adelaide United in their opening two games.

Returning from retirement, star striker Michelle Heyman has been in irresistible form for new coach Vicki Linton’s side, scoring four goals as the capital club have set the early standard in the competition. 

Their opponents in Round 3, Brisbane Roar may have hoped for more than two points from their two games. Jake Goodship’s side have taken 47 shots without scoring a goal this season but the Queenslander’s steely defence are also yet to concede.

Both club are three-time Premiers, both missed out on a top-four finish last season, and, when they meet at Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe on Thursday night,  both will aim to take a big step towards returning to finals football, and perhaps even lifting silverware, in 2020/21.

WATCH: How to watch Westfield W-League Round 3
ROUND 3 PREVIEW: Newcastle Jets v Sydney FC

Match details

Brisbane Roar v Canberra United
Thursday, 7 January 2021
Kick-off: 7.05pm AEDT
Venue: Dolphin Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvCAN #WLeague

Team News

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Georgina WORTH (gk), 2.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Billie MURPHY, 6.Winonah HEATLEY, 7.Kim CARROLL, 8.Mariel HECHER, 9.Rosie SUTTON, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Sharn FREIER, 13.Tameka YALLOP, 14.Leticia MCKENNA, 15.Emily GIELNIK, 16.Jamilla RANKIN, 19.Rebekah HORSEY, 21.Morgan AQUINO (gk), 23.Isobel DALTON, 25.Olivia CHANCE

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 11.Sharn FREIER (promoted), 19.Rebekah HORSEY (promoted), 25.Olivia CHANCE (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil


Canberra United squad: 1.Keeley RICHARDS (gk), 4.Kendall FLETCHER (c), 5.Lauren KEIR, 6.Bianca GALIC, 7.Rachael GOLDSTEIN, 8.Laura HUGHES, 9.Demi KOULIZAKIS, 10.Grace MAHER, 13.Paige SATCHELL, 14.Jessie RASSCHAERT, 15.Jessika NASH, 18.Izzy FOLETTA, 19.Nicki FLANNERY, 20. Sasha GROVE, 22.Sally JAMES (gk), 23.Michelle HEYMAN

Ins:  7.Rachael GOLDSTEIN (promoted)

Outs: 12. Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG (not selected)

Unavailable: 3.Clare HUNT (wrist – 3 weeks), 11.Ashlie Crofts (leg – indefinite)


SQUAD UPDATES: All of the players signed for Westfield W-League Season 2020/21
ROUND 2: Team of the Week, presented by Bunnings Warehouse