Round 14 preview: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Sydney FC will attempt to fend off a rampaging Melbourne Victory in order to clinch the Premiers Plate in an unmissable Big Blue at Cromer Park on Wednesday, March 31.

The final fixture of the 2020/21 Westfield W-League regular season pits the two sides still in the hunt to finish top of the table against one another.

Melbourne Victory surged to within two points of the Sky Blues after an imperious 6-0 win over Perth Glory earlier in Round 14, while Sydney FC drew 0-0 with Canberra United to leave the door ajar for a late Victory charge.

Ante Juric’s Sydney side were in a commanding position early in the season, winning their first six games to emerge as clear favourites for the Premiership. 

But the final game will kick off with Sydney trailing Brisbane Roar on goal difference alone. A draw or win would send Sydney above the Roar, while Victory can leapfrog both sides with a win to steal the Premiers Plate and book a home Semi Final.

It’s a battle for keeps at Cromer Park. A fixture with far more than three points on the line. The result will present many permutations for the layout of the final four leading into the Finals Series, and these two bitter rivals will not be giving an inch in the pursuit of silverware on Wednesday night.

**Free Entry to ALL fans at Cromer Park**

FINALS SERIES: ‘The definition of coming down to the wire’ – Amy Chapman’s preview
REPORT: Roar seal home Semi Final with 3-0 win over Jets

Melina Ayres

Match Details

Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC
Wednesday, March 31 2021
Venue:Cromer Park
Kick-off 7.35pm AEDT
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Watch this match LIVE AND FREE on Kayo via the Kayo Freebies – more details here.
Match Centre

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #SYDvMVC #WLeague

Team News

Sydney FC squad: 1.Jada WHYMAN (gk), 2.Teresa POLIAS (c), 3.Charlotte McLEAN, 5.Ally GREEN, 6.Clare WHEELER, 8.Rachel LOWE, 9.Allira TOBY, 10.Remy SIEMSEN, 12.Natalie TOBIN, 13.Natasha PRIOR, 15.Mackenzie HAWKESBY, 17.Angelique HRISTODOULOU, 18.Taylor RAY, 19.Charlie RULE, 20.Princess IBINI, 30.Katie OFFER (GK), 40.Eliza CAMPBELL (gk).

**1 to be omitted**

Ins: 19.Charlie RULE (promoted), 40.Eliza CAMPBELL (GK) (promoted).

Outs: 11.Cortnee VINE (knee – indefinite)

Unavailable: 4.Liz RALSTON (knee – indefinite), 7.Ellie BRUSH (knee – indefinite)

Melbourne Victory squad:  1.Gabby GARTON (gk), 2.Tiffany ELIADIS, 3.Claudia BUNGE, 4.Natalie MARTINEAU, 5.Gabe MARZANO, 7.Kyra COONEY-CROSS, 8.Angela BEARD, 9.Catherine ZIMMERMAN, 10.Annalie LONGO, 11.Lisa De VANNA, 13.Polly DORAN, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 17.Maja MARKOVSKI, 18.Kayla MORRISON, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 20.Mel MAIZELS (gk), 30.MelindaJ BARBIERI

**2 to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Gabe MARZANO (promoted), 17.Maja MARKOVSKI (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 6.Natalie TATHEM (knee – season)

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel


REPORT: Victory annihilate Perth to book ticket to Finals Series 
Canberra book finals return with goalless draw as Sydney edge closer to Premiers Plate