Record numbers flock to the Westfield W-League

Record numbers attended Round 3 of the Westfield W-League as champions Melbourne Victory rediscovered their form with a 4-2 win over Canberra United in Sunday’s only match.

Goals from returning American midfielder Lauren Barnes, as well as Westfield Matildas trio Steph Catley, Lisa De Vanna and Gema Simon, saw Canberra suffer a rare home defeat and slip from top spot on the ladder.

A record crowd highlighted Saturday’s action in the Westfield W-League as Sydney FC and Perth Glory retained their grip on top spot, while two-time champions Brisbane Roar returned to the winner’s circle.

A goal in each half from Jasmyne Spencer and Amy Harrison proved enough for Sydney FC to outlast Western Sydney Wanderers in an action-packed contest.

A crowd of 3,084 attended Marconi Stadium in Sydney to achieve the highest attendance for a regular-season Westfield W-League match (other than Hyundai A-League double-headers).

Brisbane also enjoyed a strong turnout amid a carnival atmosphere at Perry Park as the Roar saw off Newcastle Jets 3-1 on the back of a Hayley Raso double.

Perth Glory remain perfect after three matches with a tough 3-1 win at home over Adelaide United.

The final match of the weekend will see Canberra United seeking a win to make it a three-way tie at the summit when they host reigning champions Melbourne Victory in a potentially epic match-up. Sunday’s match will be broadcast live on ABC TV at 3pm nationally.


Western Sydney Wanderers 0

Sydney FC 2 (Jasmyne Spencer 12’, Amy Harrison 60’)

Saturday 27 September 2014

Marconi Stadium, Sydney

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kirralee Andruschak

Western Sydney Wanderers: Sham Khamis (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Helen Petinos (Rachael Soutar 88’), Kendall Johnson, Keelin Winters, Michelle Carney, Hannah Beard (Tia Gavin 75’), Demi Koulizakis (Lorena Bugden 65’), Linda O’Neill, Victoria Guzman

Substitutes – Trudy Bourke (gk)

Cautions – Linda O’Neill 14’, 86’

Red card: Linda O’Neill 86’

Sydney FC: Casey Dumont (gk), Teresa Polias, Alesha Clifford, Jasmyne Spencer (Ellyse Perry 75’), Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger (Olivia Price 88’), Amy Harrison, Renee Rollason, Natalie Tobin, Chloe Logarzo (Trudy Camilleri 84’), Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk)

Cautions – nil


Perth Glory 3 (Elisa D’Ovidio 45’, Sam Kerr 56’, Kate Gill 59’)

Adelaide United 1 (Lisa-Marie Woods 46’)

Saturday 27 September 2014

Ashfield Sports Club, Perth

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Lara Smith

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll, Bronwyn Studman (Shannon May 78’), Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Elisa D’Ovidio, Collette McCallum (Shawn Billam 81’), Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain (Gabrielle Marzano 72’), Sam Kerr

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – Caitlin Foord 90’

Adelaide United: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Lauren Steer, Dylan Holmes, Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon (Alexandra Chidiac 64’), Lisa-Marie Woods, Isabel Hodgson (Tiarn Powell 64’), Daila-Tais Borg (Georgia Campagnale 74’), Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham, Tiarn Powell, Kristy Moore

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk)

Cautions – Kristy Moore 45+2’, Lisa-Marie Woods 92’


Brisbane Roar 3 (Emily Gielnik 10, Hayley Raso 28’, 51’)

Newcastle Jets 1 (Rhali Dobson 77’)

Saturday 27 September 2014

Perry Park, Brisbane

Local kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Katie Patterson

Brisbane Roar: Nadine Angerer (gk), Laura Alleway, Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence (Angela Beard 61’), Hayley Raso (Larissa Crummer 77’), Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Katrina Gorry, Vedrana Popovic (Ayesha Norrie 85’), Tameka Butt, Emily Gielnik

Substitutes – Kate Stewart (gk)

Cautions – Vedrana Popovic 77’, Laura Alleway 89’

Newcastle Jets: Claire Coehlo (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Hayley Crawford, Ashley Spina, Katherine Reynolds, Angela Salem, Tori Huster, Amber Neilson (Cassidy Davis 63’), Tara Andrews (Rhali Dobson 63’), Emily van Egmond, Grace McIntyre (Elizabeth Copus-Brown 81’)

Substitutes – Renee Rudder (gk)

Cautions – Emily van Egmond 49’


Canberra United 2 (Lori Lindsey 59’, Michelle Heyman 80’)

Melbourne Victory 4 (Lauren Barnes 38’, Steph Catley 42’, Lisa De Vanna 48’, Gema Simon 68’)

Sunday 28 September 2014

McKellar Park, Canberra

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Canberra United: Chantel Jones, Grace Field, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Grace Gill (Julia De Angelis 68’), Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey, Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Catherine Brown, Rebecca Kiting

Cautions – Caitlin Munoz 51’

Melbourne Victory: Brianna Davey (gk), Hannah Brewer, Lauren Barnes, Stephanie Catley, Amy Jackson (Gulcan Koca 75’), Racheal Quigley (Gema Simon 62’), Christine Nairn, Lisa De Vanna, Ella Mastrantonio, Emma Checker, Elli Reed (Beattie Goad 89’)

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – Amy Jackson 54’

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague