Preview: Canberra United v Sydney FC

One of the traditional highlights of the Westfield W-League calendar takes place in the nation’s capital as Canberra United host Sydney FC in the ABC TV match.

Canberra United v Sydney FC

Sunday 9 November 2014

McKellar Park, Canberra

Local kick-off: 3pm

* Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally on ABC1. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #CBRvSYD

In truth, it has been a poor month for both teams who have slumped to a run of defeats in that time.

While Sydney and Canberra maintain their hold on second and third respectively, there is no more room for error. A host of teams loom on their shoulder, while defeat will certainly mean kissing goodbye to any outside hopes of chasing down runaway leaders Perth Glory.

The reality is that the two sets of teams are laden with class players, and both are far too good to remain languishing in a form slump for long.

Canberra look to slowly be rediscovering their old form, although they have won just one of four matches at McKellar Park this season in what is usually their fortress.

They have recently benefitted from a settled line-up with injury concerns abating, while the arrival of experienced American midfielder Kendall Fletcher has added yet more balance to the side.

Meanwhile, Sydney FC coach Daniel Barrett has endured a rocky start to his tenure since assuming the reins from new Westfield Matildas mentor Alen Stajcic.

The Sky Blues are winless in their past three outings, and while they needed a late goal to earn a share of the spoils against Brisbane Roar last weekend there were plenty of positive signs.

On the debit side, Barrett will again be without a trio of Westfield Young Matildas representatives including regular starter Amy Harrison, while fullback Ellyse Perry will miss the opportunity to tackle her old side.

How the Sky Blues recover from their numerous absences is unclear. What is certain is that an up-tempo and hard-fought contest is assured for nationwide armchair viewers and local fans alike.

Canberra United squad: 1. Chantel JONES, 2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 16. Lori LINDSEY, 20. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 22. Stephanie OCHS

Ins: Grace Gill (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Meg McLAUGHLIN (knee – season)

Sydney FC squad: 21. Sian McLaren (gk), 2. Teresa Polias, 3. Liz Ralston, 4. Alesha Clifford, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Servet Uzunlar, 7. Nicola Bolger, 10. Renee Rollason, 12. Chloe Logarzo, 13. Trudy Camilleri, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Samantha Johnson, 18. Heidi Makrillos, 20. Alyssa Harris (gk), 22. Melissa Caceres, 23. Georgia Plessas

Ins: Trudy Camilleri (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable:  Ellyse Perry (cricket commitments), Kyah Simon (knee – one week), Casey Dumont (liver – four weeks), Amy Harrison, Natalie Tobin, Olivia Price (all Westfield Young Matildas)