Preview: Canberra United v Perth Glory

What a match-up in the nation’s capital to conclude the regular season on ABC TV. A desperate Canberra United tackling the red-hot Perth Glory with a galaxy of stars dotted across the two team.

Canberra United v Perth Glory

Sunday 7 December 2014

Viking Park, Erindale, Canberra

Local kick-off: 3pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #CBRvPER

* Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally on ABC TV. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Canberra know that a draw will guarantee their finals status for the sixth time in seven seasons. Conversely, United may already be into the semis before they even take the field, depending on the result of Saturday’s Sydney FC and Newcastle Jets match.

Either way it is a massive test of credentials for a Canberra side whose campaign has included periods of winning form and erratic results in equal measure.

Having nailed down the Premiership two rounds ago, Jamie Harnwell’s Perth side have, in theory, nothing to play for ahead of a home semi-final next weekend. As a result Caitlin Foord and Alanna Kennedy, both of whom are on the verge of suspension for an accumulation of yellow cards – have been rested.

However the Glory last week proved that they perhaps play even better when there is nothing at stake. The almost unthinkable 5-0 demolition of two-time champions Sydney FC a testament to their quality.

Sam Kerr netted a treble against her former side and, in concert with striker Kate Gill, the pair have netted 22 goals between them, more than Canberra’s entire team tally.

The two sides played out a feisty encounter when they last met in October as the Glory triumphed 3-0, although the contest was far closer than the scoreline suggested.

The Glory are now hunting a new league benchmark after an unprecedented ten wins in 11 games, having also set a competition-high goals tally for a single season.

While it may make for a scary prospect for home side Canberra United, it makes for a mouth-watering prospect for local fans and nationwide ABC TV viewers alike.

Canberra United squad: 1. Chantel JONES, 2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Tegan RIDING, 16. Lori LINDSEY, 20. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 22. Stephanie OCHS

Ins: Grace Maher (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Meg McLAUGHLIN (knee – season)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 3. Carys Hawkins, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 5. Shannon May, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum, 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), 20. Samantha Kerr

Ins: Thia Eastman, Shawn Billam (both promoted)

Outs: Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord (both omitted)

Unavailable: none

To stay up to date with the latest news and highlights, sign up to the Westfield W-League Extra here