Perth continue glorious win streak

A double from Kate Gill and Shelina Zadorksy’s first Westfield W-League goal extended to five matches Perth Glory’s record winning start to a season as Canberra United were beaten 3-0 at Ashfield Sports Club today.

Zadorsky opened the scoring in the 14th minute before Gill struck a 63rd-minute penalty and then crashed home a second with 10 minutes to play to give Glory their first win over Canberra in 11 attempts.

League-leading Glory were indebted to goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold, who made a string of fine saves against a Canberra side which failed to make the most of a hatful of chances.

Arnold’s heroics started after just four minutes when she denied Ashleigh Sykes and she continued to provide stubborn resistance, twice disappointing both Canberra skipper Nicole Begg and Lori Lindsey in an impressive opening 45 minutes.

But while Canberra enjoyed the better share of possession and chances during the early exchanges, Glory were more clinical in front of goal.

Just a minute after Marianna Tabain’s stinging volley was brilliantly saved by Canberra’s former Glory goalkeeper Chantel Jones, Zadorsky broke the deadlock.

This time Jones was unable to hang on to Bronwyn Studman’s effort and Zadorsky was on hand to head the ball over the line, despite Canberra’s desperate attempts to clear.

Michelle Heyman had the ball in the net for the visitors in the 23rd minute after a ball over the top from Lindsey but the flag had been raised for offside.

Matildas attacker Caitlin Foord was first to threaten in the second half but her 52nd-minute shot hit the side netting to the relief of Canberra keeper Jones.

Just two minutes later Glory failed to deal with a corner and Heyman’s shot from a tight angle clipped the outside of a post.

But soon after Jones had stopped Samantha Kerr from increasing Glory’s advantage the Canberra keeper was booked for her reaction to conceding a penalty when she brought

down the Perth striker.

Gill stepped up and doubled Glory’s lead and then took her personal tally to 10 goals for the season when she smashed the ball home after Jones had saved her initial header.

Glory will have home comfort again next Saturday when they host Sydney, while Canberra are at home to Adelaide United on Sunday.

Perth Glory 2 (Zadorsky 14min, Gill pen 63, 80min)

Canberra 0

Perth Glory: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD, 2. Sarah CARROLL (3. Carys HAWKINS 84min), 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 6. Alanna KENNEDY, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D’OVIDIO (5. Shannon MAY 46min), 14. Collette MCCALLUM (8. Shawn BILLAM 75min), 15. Shelina ZADORSKY, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 20. Samantha KERR.

Substitutes not used: GK. Gabby DAL BUSCO.

Yellow cards: D’Ovidio 44min.

Canberra United: 1. Chantel JONES, 2. Catherine BROWN (17. Holly HOUSTON 81min), 3. Julia DE ANGELIS (15. Tegan RIDING 88min), 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole BEGG (capt), 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 16. Lori LINDSEY, 22. Stephanie OCHS.

Substitutes: 18. Rebecca KITING, GK. Melissa MAIZELS. 

Yellow cards: Brush 31min, Jones 62