Newcastle Jets v Canberra United: match preview

Newcastle Jets and Canberra United will both be looking to bounce back from last-start defeats when they clash at McDonald Jones Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The Jets are still searching for their first win of the campaign after they were edged out by Western Sydney Wanderers 1-0 last weekend.

While Craig Deans’ squad lack the ‘star power’ of some of their Westfield W-League rivals, they have shown they are still a formidable outfit and will fancy their chances on home soil.

It took a 94th-minute penalty to deny Canberra a result against Melbourne City on Sunday, going down 2-1 against one of the competition heavyweights.

But Heather Garriock’s side will be buoyed by their performance and will head to the Hunter with designs of taking all three points back to the nation’s capital.

This match is part of a double-header with the Hyundai A-League games between the Jets and Western Sydney Wanderers, which kicks off at 7.30pm AEDT.

Create a Football Account Thin Banner

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, November 30 2019
Kick-off: 4.30pm AEDT
Venue: McDonald Jones Stadium 
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: Every Westfield W-League game in Round 3
MORE: Westfield Matildas in the Westfield W-League – how did they go?

Where heroes are made

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #NEWvCBR #WLeague

My Football Live banner

Team news

Newcastle Jets squad: 2.Hannah BREWER, 6.Cassidy DAVIS, 7.Gema SIMON, 9.Tara ANDREWS, 10.Libby COPUS-BROWN, 11.Pana PETRATOS, 12.Tessa TAMPLIN, 13.Lauren ALLAN, 17.Jenna KINGSLEY, 18.Clare WHEELER, 19.Nicki FLANNERY, 20.Claire COELHO (gk), 25.Teigan COLLISTER, 30.Nicole SIMONSEN (gk), 31.Paige KINGSTON-HOGG

Ins: Nil

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 4.Annabel MARTIN (knee – 1-2 weeks), 8.Sophie NENADOVIC (ankle – 4-6 weeks), 14.Renee POUNTNEY (foot – 1-2 weeks) 

Canberra United squad: 1.Annalee GROVE (gk), 2.Laura HUGHES, 3.Kaleigh KURTZ, 5.Nikola ORGILL (c), 6.Emma STANBURY, 7.Simone CHARLEY, 8.Olivia PRICE, 10.Camila PEREIRA, 11.Elise THORSNES, 12.Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG, 15.Ashlie CROFTS, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 20.Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), 21.Rebekah HORSEY, 23.Lauren KEIR
**one to be omitted**

Ins: 6.Emma STANBURY, (promoted), 11.Elise THORSNES (promoted), 12.Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG (promoted), 23.Lauren KEIR (promoted)

Outs: 4.Jessie RASSCHAERT (not selected), 9.Katie STENGEL (ankle, 1 week), 18.Taren KING (not selected)

Unavailable: Nil


Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season Draw Thin Banner