National Youth League Final Review

Gold Coast United Youth stole the title with two goals in the last 10 minutes

Gold Coast United has claimed the National Youth League 2010 Championship after defeating Perth Glory 2-1 in today’s National Youth League 2010 Grand Final.

In a pulsating match, with plenty of end-to-end action and scoring opportunities from both teams, Gold Coast United came from a goal down to record a stunning victory.

After an enthralling scoreless first half, Perth Glory took the lead midway through the second half when Dean Evans hit a sublime long range strike into the top left corner of the goal.

Gold Coast United equalised in the 82nd minute courtesy of a Chris Harold header from inside the 6-yard box following a cross from Tahj Minniecon on the right side.

Minniecon then backed up to score the winner for Gold Coast United in the 90th minute after beating his defender around the edge of the box and neatly placing his shot inside the far post giving Perth Glory goalkeeper Alex Pearson little chance of saving.

Panny Nikas from the Central Coast Mariners was named the National Youth League 2009/10 Player of the Season

Brisbane Roar was awarded the National Youth League 2009/10 Fair Play Award

Chris Harold received the golden boot award for the season.

National Youth League 2010 Grand Final

Perth Glory 1 (Dean Evans 75′)

Gold Coast United 2 (Chris Harold 82′, Tahj Minniecon 90’+1)

Saturday, 20 March 2010
Etihad Stadium, Melbourne
Local kick-off: 3.00pm AEDT
Referee: Jarred Gillett
Assistant referees: Adam Papuga and George Lakrindis
Fourth official: Lucien Laverdure

Perth Glory Youth line-up: 1.Alex PEARSON (gk), 2.Ryan PEARSON, 3.Steve HESKETH (c), 4.Sam MITCHINSON, 5.Joshua RISDON (8.Howard FONDYKE 58′), 6.Dean EVANS, 9.Mario MARCINKO, 10.Glen TRIFIRO, 11.Ludovic BOI, 12.Reece VITTIGLIA (7.Tommy AMPHLETT 58′), 21.Hayden DOYLE (13.Sebit OYET 92+’).

Substitutes Not Used: 20.Tim DOYLE (gk)

Yellow Cards: Mario Marcinko 17′, Sam Mitchinson 53′, Hayden Doyle 79′.

Red Cards: Nil

Gold Coast United Youth line-up: 1.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 2.Steven TOPALOVIC, 3.James BROWN, 5.Ben WEARING, 7.Zac ANDERSON, 8.Steven LUSTICA (c), 9.Chris HAROLD, 10.Koh SATAKE (15.Rueben WAY 77′), 11.Ben HALLORAN (6.Mitchell BEVAN 77′) , 12.Tahj MINNIECON, 14.Josh BRILLANTE

Substitutes Not Used: 4.Callum HARE, 20.Tim ANDERSON (gk)

Yellow Cards: James Brown 64′

Red Cards: Nil