NAB Young Footballer of the Year candidates named

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced the list of players across the Hyundai A-League and Foxtel National Youth League competitions that are eligible for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2014/15 Award.

In a variation from previous seasons, the age eligibility criteria for the upcoming season has been changed from 21 to 23 year old players which is in line with the FFA’s Olympic Football Program. As a result, players born after 1st January 1991 will be eligible for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2014/15 Award.

The voting panel for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2014/15 Award consists of members of the FFA Technical Department and media representatives.

Voting will be conducted on a monthly basis with the overall winner drawn from the list of monthly nominees, and announced at the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards Night on Monday 11 May. The first monthly nominee will be announced next week.

Launched in 2009, the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award recognises outstanding performances in each month of the Hyundai A-League season, with the overall winner receiving a $10,000 personal investment portfolio and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with banking and financial services.

NAB recognises the significance of grassroots football in the development of today’s young stars. As a result, the junior club, as selected by each monthly nominee, will receive a NAB Club Recognition Award comprising of financial and practical resources, to the value of $2,500.

Last season Adam Taggart of the Newcastle Jets was crowned the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2013/14 ahead of fellow nominees Trent Sainsbury (Central Coast Mariners), Storm Roux (Central Coast Mariners), Dimitri Petratos (Brisbane Roar), Josh Brillante (Newcastle) and Terry Antonis (Sydney FC).

Taggart was rewarded for his outstanding performances throughout the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 Season with a place in the Socceroos squad at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil where he played in two matches against the Netherlands and Spain. During the off-season, Taggart also completed a move to Fulham FC in the English Championship.

Taggart was the fifth recipient of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award following in the footsteps of Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory – 2012/13), Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners – 2011/2012 & 2010/11) and Tommy Oar (Brisbane Roar – 2009/10).

Read the NAB Young Footballer of the Year eligibility list