Midfield star sweeps Sydney FC’s awards

Johnny Warren Medalist Milos Ninkovic has taken out all three of the major Hyundai A-League honours at Sydney FC’s end of season awards night, the Sky Blue Ball.

The Serbian midfielder, and newly signed marquee, claimed the top award the Hyundai A-League Player of the Year, ahead of Danny Vukovic, Bobô and captain Alex Brosque, as voted for by a select panel of coaching staff after each match in the 2016/17 season.  

‘Ninko’ retention first step in Sky Blue dynasty

Taking home the Hyundai A-League Players’ Player of the Year award and the Members’ Player of the Year award as well, Ninkovic follows in the footsteps of compatriot Milos Dimitrijevic and former Sky Blue Matt Jurman to collect all three major Hyundai A-League accolades.

Sydney FC star Milos Ninkovic has been named the Johnny Warren Medalist for the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season.

The midfield maestro played 28 of the Sky Blues 29 games this season, assisting 11 goals while also creating 47 chances for his team mates. The number 10 scored nine goals himself and converted the winning penalty in the Hyundai A-League 2017 Grand Final to ensure his name is recorded in the annals of the Sky Blues as one the club’s most influential and successful players. 

Ninkovic said he was delighted with the awards and paid testament to his team mates for the achievements. 

“I am very happy to have received these awards,” he said.

“These awards are not only for me they are for the team, we won together and as a family everybody played their part.

“I would also like to thank the Sydney FC Members and fans for their kind words and support. It is a pleasure to play in front of you all each week and I can’t wait for the new season.

Milos Ninkovic celebrates after grabbing the opening goal in Sydney FC's clash with Newcastle Jets on Saturday night.

“I am focused now on defending our titles and I can’t wait to also play in the AFC Champions League again and win that for our club.”

International marquee Bobô picked up the Sydney FC Golden Boot with an impressive 15 goal haul on the way to a Premiership and Championship double, as youngster Remy Siemsen also claimed the Westfield W-League Golden Boot for her six goals in 12 appearances. 

The Sky Blues’ Head of Strength and Conditioning Andrew Clark was presented with the Chairman’s Award for his success in producing the fittest Premiership and Championship winning team in the Hyundai A-League.