Melbourne Victory claim first Westfield W-League Premiership

Melbourne Victory have claimed their first Westfield W-League Premiership following their thrilling 2-1 victory over Perth Glory last night in Perth.

Melbourne Victory got off to the perfect start with two first half goals to Christine Nairn in the 17th minute and Emily Gielnik in the 35th minute.

REPORT: Willacy the hero as Reds beat Roar
REPORT: Victory claim Premiership Glory

Live Free Banner

Sam Kerr pulled a goal back for Perth with a header in the 55th minute and the Glory also had a number of opportunities to equalise later in the half, but the Victory defence held firm to cap off a memorable win in a remarkable season.

Earlier in the evening Adelaide United caused a massive upset by defeating Brisbane Roar FC 1-0 at home which paved the way for Melbourne Victory to clinch their inaugural title in Round 14.

FFA CEO David Gallop AM congratulated Melbourne Victory on their historic achievement.

“Melbourne Victory have had an outstanding Westfield W-League season and are deserved Premiers,” said Gallop.

“Our congratulations goes to Melbourne Victory’s Head Coach Jeff Hopkins, his coaching staff, captain Natasha Dowie and all the players for their outstanding performances throughout the Westfield W-League 2018/19 season.

“We also recognise the chairman Anthony Di Pietro, CEO Trent Jacobs and the Melbourne Victory support staff for their efforts and contributions to help this team claim their first Westfield W-League Premiership.

“Now we turn our attention to the Westfield W-League 2019 Finals Series which I am sure will be an extremely exciting contest,” concluded Gallop.

Victory win

Melbourne Victory will now play their rescheduled Round 12 match against Canberra United at McKellar Park on Tuesday (5 February 2019) evening to complete the regular season.

Following consultation with Melbourne Victory, FFA will present the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Premiers Plate to Melbourne Victory at the conclusion of their rescheduled Round 12 match against Canberra United.

The first week of the Westfield W-League 2019 Finals Series will see the Melbourne Victory (1) host Perth Glory (4) in Melbourne and Brisbane Roar FC hosting Sydney FC in Brisbane with full match details to be announced shortly.

Get Onside

The winners of the two Semi Finals will meet in the Westfield W-League 2019 Grand Final.

The Westfield W-League 2019 Finals Series will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS and SBS VICELAND and My Football Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.