Melbourne City v Canberra United: match preview

Melbourne City are hunting seven wins on the spin when they host Canberra United in Thursday evening’s Westfield W-League contest (kick off 7.30pm AEDT).

Rado Vidosic’s side returned to the top of the competition ladder with a 2-0 victory over Brisbane Roar last time out, with Milica Mijatovic and Westfield Matilda Aivi Luik on the scoresheet.

That made it six wins in a row for the three-time Champions of Australia, a run which began with a 2-1 win over Canberra in the nation’s capital back in November.

Canberra, currently lying in sixth position, are knocking on the door of the top four and would give their Finals Series hopes a huge boost if they can pick up a result against the competition leaders. 

Watch live and free

Click here to buy tickets

Thursday, 9 January 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: ABD Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

ROUND 9: How to watch the upcoming round of the Westfield W-League
ROUND 8: Westfield W-League Team of the Week

How to watch

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #MCYvCBR #WLeague

Melbourne City celebrate a goal


My Football Live banner

Team news

Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2.Yukari KINGA, 3.Lauren BARNES, 4.Chelsea BLISSETT, 6.Aivi LUIK, 7.Steph CATLEY (c), 8.Nia STAMATOPOULOS, 9.Claire EMSLIE, 10.Emily VAN EGMOND, 11.Rhali DOBSON, 13.Rebekah STOTT, 15.Emma CHECKER, 17.Kyah SIMON, 19.Tyla-Jay VLAJNIC, 20.Milica MIJATOVIC, 21.Ellie CARPENTER, 23.Melissa HUDSON **two to be omitted**

Ins: 8.Nia STAMATOPOULOS (promoted), 11.Rhali DOBSON (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 16.Sofia SAKALIS (Knee – season)

 Canberra United squad: 1.Annalee GROVE (gk), 2.Laura HUGHES, 3.Kaleigh KURTZ, 5.Nikola ORGILL (c), 7.Simone CHARLEY, 8.Olivia PRICE, 10.Camila PEREIRA, 11.Elise THORSNES, 12.Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG, 15.Ashlie CROFTS, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 20.Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), 21.Rebekah HORSEY, 23.Lauren KEIR, 24.Aoife COLVILL. **two to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Laura HUGHES (promoted), 21.Rebekah HORSEY (promoted), 17.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS (promoted), 24.Aoife COLVILL (promoted)
Outs: 4.Jessie RASSCHAERT (not selected), 6.Emma STANBURY (not selected)
Unavailable: 4.Jessie RASSCHAERT (personal leave), 9.Katie STENGEL (ankle)


Create a Football Account Thin Banner