Three A-Leagues stars to go for gold in Paris as Matildas name squad for Olympics

CommBank Matildas head coach Tony Gustavsson has confirmed his 18-player squad set to represent Australia at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Arsenal full-back Steph Catley will captain the Matildas at the tournament with Sam Kerr unavailable due to injury.

Four of the 18 players selected are Olympics debutants, including Sydney FC winger Cortnee Vine; the 26-year-old is joined by Clare Hunt, Kaitlyn Torpey and Clare Wheeler in heading to the Olympics for the very first time.

Joining the four debutants are eight players preparing to play in their third Olympic campaign: captain Catley, Mackenzie Arnold, Ellie Carpenter, Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord, Clare Polkinghorne, Emily van Egmond and Brisbane Roar’s Tameka Yallop.

Canberra United striker Michelle Heyman represented Australia at the Rio 2016 Games and is back for another shot at a medal after her recent reintroduction to the national team fold; Heyman hadn’t played for the Matildas in six years before receiving a recall in February and has been a mainstay in the squad ever since.

Four “travelling reserves” have also been selected to join the 18-player squad in France: Charlotte Grant, Courtney Nevin, Lydia Williams and Brisbane Roar’s Sharn Freier. Travelling reserves can be selected as a replacement for any member of the squad in case of injury or other withdrawal from the squad.

The group stage of the Paris 2024 women’s football tournament kicks off in late July; Australia face Germany, Zambia and the United States in Group B. The tournament will be held in seven cities in France but Australia’s fixtures will take place in Paris, Nantes, Lyon or Marseille.

Matildas squad – Paris 2024 Olympic Games

Travelling reserves

  • Sharn Freier
  • Charlotte Grant
  • Courtney Nevin
  • Lydia Williams

The four travelling reserves can be selected as a replacement for any member of the squad in case of injury or other withdrawal from the Olympic Games

18-player squad

NamePositionAgeOlympic Games
Mackenzie ArnoldGoalkeeper303rd (2016, 2020)
Ellie Carpenter (VC)Defender243rd (2016, 2020)
Steph Catley (C)Defender303rd (2016, 2020)
Kyra Cooney-CrossMidfielder222nd (2020)
Caitlin FoordMidfielder/Forward293rd (2016, 2020)
Mary FowlerMidfielder/Forward212nd (2020)
Katrina GorryMidfielder312nd (2016)
Michelle HeymanForward352nd (2016)
Clare HuntDefender25Debut
Alanna KennedyDefender293rd (2016, 2020)
Teagan MicahGoalkeeper262nd (2020)
Clare PolkinghorneDefender353rd (2016, 2020)
Hayley RasoMidfielder/Forward292nd (2020)
Kaitlyn TorpeyDefender24Debut
Emily van Egmond (VC)Midfielder/Forward303rd (2016, 2020)
Cortnee VineMidfielder26Debut
Clare WheelerMidfielder26Debut
Tameka YallopMidfielder32*3rd (2016, 2020)