Matildas duo inspire Glory to win over Victory

Perth Glory stars Sam Kerr and Caitlin Foord lifted Perth Glory to a 2-1 win against Melbourne Victory in the opening match of the Westfield W-League on Saturday.

The Perth pair both scored as the Glory overturned an early deficit after Laura Spiranovic got Melbourne Victory away to a fast start.

Kerr netted the winning goal in the 69th minute when she guided a Foord cut-back from the right past Victory goalkeeper Melissa Barbieri.

Kerr earlier had a penalty saved by Barbieri in the 42nd minute and also spurned a close-range chance in a goal-mouth scramble before finally finding the back of the net.

Spiranovic got Victory off to a flying start when she followed in a Christine Nairn long-shot, parried by Perth goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold.

The goal in the eighth minute was followed by a flurry of Perth attacks, but ultimately no chance better than the penalty for Kerr.

Victory centre back Alexandra Natoli legged Kerr to give away the spot kick, which Barbieri read straight off the boot to save low to the ‘keeper’s right.

Foord would save any blushes though as she weaved through the Victory defence and netted the equaliser in the 45th minute.

Victory’s defeat was soured by a knee injury to Selin Kuralay in the second half. The returning former Matilda twisted in a midfield contest for the ball after planting her right leg in the ground.

Victory’s other out-of-retirement Matilda, Thea Slatyer, produced a commanding display from centre back but had to leave the game with cramp in the 70th minute.

Melbourne Victory plays Melbourne City next Sunday in the W-League derby while Perth Glory hosts Newcastle Jets on Saturday.

Melbourne Victory 1 (Spiranovic 8′) Perth Glory 2 (Foord 45′ Kerr 69′)

Melbourne Victory: 20. BARBIERI Melissa (c), 2. NATOLI Alexandra, 5. PALMER Briar, 6. MARTIN Annabel, 7. BARILLA Enza, 8. POLLOCK Jamie, 9. SPIRANOVIC Laura (11. BARBIERI Melindaj 90+3′), 10. NAIRN Christine, 13. SLATYER Thea (18. PITTS Jessica 70′), 14. KURALAY Selin (15. TARANTO Adriana 78′), 16. RASO Hayley

Unused substitutes: 1. DIMOVSKI Cassandra

Cards: None

Perth Glory: 1. ARNOLD Mackenzie, 2. CARROLL Sarah, 3. CARROLL Kim, 4. HOLTHAM Katie, 5. MAY Shannon, 9. FOORD Caitlin, 12. SCHUBERT Kathryn, 13. BROGAN Danielle, 14. DOEGLAS Caitlin (6. BENNETT Carla 46′), 19. MASTRANTONIO Ella (8. BILLAM Shawn 66′), 20. KERR Samantha (c)

Unused substitutes: 16. EASTMAN Thia, 18. DAL BUSCO Gabrielle (gk)

Cards: Billam 85′