Match preview: Canberra United v Melbourne Victory

Wild weather stopped this game in its tracks back in Round 12 as Canberra United prepare to welcome newly-crowned Premiers Melbourne Victory to McKellar Park on Tuesday night.

The match was stopped after 16 minutes of play at Sieffert Oval back on 17 January after lightning strikes forced the referee to call for a delay with the match completely abandoned shortly after.

TICKET OFFERS: Ticket offers for rebel Play Football Round
READ: How to watch Westfield W-League Finals
HEROIC MOMENTS: Willacy saves the day for Reds


For Canberra, their season is over and will finish in lowly eighth place regardless of whether they pick up a win or not.

It marks the second year in a row United have missed the Westfield W-League Finals Series and Heather Garriock’s chargers will no doubt be eager to prove themselves to their coach as preparations for next season begin in earnest.

Their task is no easy one as they host the Premiership-winning Victory who sealed their title with a hard-fought 2-1 win against Perth Glory last Friday.

Coach Jeff Hopkins has named a full-strength squad despite the temptation to rest key players ahead of their home final against the Glory on Sunday.

Ins and outs

Canberra United squad: 1. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 2. Laura HUGHES, 4. Rachel CORSIE (c), 6. Refiloe JANE, 7. Aoife COLVILL, 8. Olivia PRICE, 9. Rhoda MULAUDZI, 12. Lauren KEIR, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Rosie GALEA, 16. Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17. Maddy WHITTALL, 18. Taren KING, 19. Nickoletta FLANNERY, 20. Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), 21. Ellie CARPENTER, 23. Maria JOSE ROJAS 

**two to be omitted**

Ins:  12. Lauren KEIR (Promoted), 15. Rosie GALEA (Promoted), 16. Karly ROESTBAKKEN (Return from Illness)

Outs: 5. Nikola ORGILL (Foot)

Unavailable: 3. Natasha PRIOR (Head – Season )

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Casey DUMONT (gk), 3.Teigen ALLEN, 4. Alex GUMMER, 5.Laura ALLEWAY, 6.Annabel MARTIN, 7.Christine NAIRN, 8.Angela BEARD, 9.Natasha DOWIE (c), 10.Kyra COONEY-CROSS, 11.MelindaJ BARBIERI, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Emily GIELNIK, 17.Danielle WEATHERHOLT, 18.Grace MAHER, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 20.Bethany MASON-JONES (gk), 21.Ella MASTRANTONIO

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 4. Alex GUMMER (promoted) 10.Kyra COONEY-CROSS (promoted), 21. Ella Mastrantonio (return from suspension)

Outs: 16.Samantha JOHNSON (suspended)

Unavailable: Nil

How to watch

You can watch this match at 6:00pm AEDT live on FOX SPORTS ( and My Football Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.

Live Free Banner


Secure your seat for the last match of the regular season here!