Málaga announce squad for Australian tour

Malaga have named their touring squad for games against Adelaide United and Perth Glory, with Portugal’s rising star Ricardo Horta and former Manchester City striker Roque Santa Cruz just some of the big names heading down under.

The full squad will arrive in Adelaide on Wednesday night, with their first training session to be held on Thursday. This match be the first time a La Liga side has ever played against an A-League side in Australia. Following this match, Málaga will travel to Perth to take on Perth Glory as part of the LFP World Challenge.

The Reds used their Pre Season match against Perth Glory on Sunday as a chance to prepare for this feature match.

Nigel Boogaard, who scored the only goal in the Reds 1-0 win over Perth, spoke of the significance of this game.

“For the players who play in the A-League to play against a La Liga team is massive. You don’t get many types of games like these in your career,” said Boogaard.

“I think any player that goes out on the field is gonna give it everything they’ve got and in years to come they will look back and say this is probably one of their career highlights.”

This is the first time the Reds will be playing at the newly redeveloped Adelaide Oval and the defender is hopping the fans will turn out in full force.

“It’s a great stadium. Hopefully we get a big turn out, our fans are vocal and we can put on a spectacle. South Australians are passionate about their sport, which ever it is and this is a good opportunity to show that to La Liga.”

“The boys are excited. It’s a good challenge for us to test ourselves against a team like this.”

Adelaide United FC face off against Spanish La Liga’s Malaga CF at Adelaide Oval on Friday 25th July.

For ticketing details call Ticketek on 132 849 or click here

Match Details
Adelaide United FC v Málaga CF
Friday, 25 July 2014
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Kick-off: 7:30pm

Málaga CF travelling squad:
Kameni, Jesús Gámez, Weligton, Antunes, Camacho, Santa Cruz, Pablo Pérez, Angeleri, Rescaldani, Duda, Eliseu, Casado, Sergio Sánchez, Juanmi, Sergi Darder, Recio, Luis Alberto, Rosales, Ricardo Horta, Rafa de Vicente, Samu Castillejo, Ernesto, Juanpi, Kuki and Cousillas.