La Rocca’s ban appeal postponed

The Football Federation Australia (FFA) independent Disciplinary Committee – consisting of John Marshall SC (Chair), Anthony Lo Surdo SC and Peter Tsekenis – convened to consider an incident referred to it, which arose in or around the 24th minute of Adelaide United’s Round 18 Hyundai A-League Match against Sydney FC on Friday, 5 February 2016. The incident involved Iacopo La Rocca of Adelaide United (the Player).

On 10 February 2016 the Player was cited by the MRP in accordance with the Hyundai A-League Disciplinary Regulations (Regulations) for committing the offence of Assault on a Player (e.g. violent conduct when not challenging for the ball) against Matt Simon (Sydney FC).

The MRP proposed a sanction of the Mandatory Match suspension plus two (2) additional Hyundai A-League matches.

The Player referred the matter to the independent Disciplinary Committee for hearing and determination of the sole question of sanction.

The independent Disciplinary Committee tonight reserved their determination.

The independent Disciplinary Committee will deliver their determination on or before Friday, 19 February 2016.