Hyundai A-league Team of the Season

After thousands of votes were collected, this is the A-League team of the season

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 All-Star Team, as voted for by the fans.

The Hyundai A-League 2009/10 All-Star Team includes players from six of the ten Hyundai A-League teams – Adelaide United, Central Coast Mariners, Gold Coast United, Melbourne Victory, Sydney FC and Wellington Phoenix – and is headed by Melbourne Victory coach Ernie Merrick.

With thousands of votes tallied on the Hyundai A-League website, this team represents players who have shone above the rest and have earned themselves a place in the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 All-Star Team by the group of people that matter most – the fans.

In the FFA model 4-3-3 formation the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 All-Star Team comprises Adelaide United custodian Eugene Galekovic, a back-four of the Sky Blues- Simon Colosimo, Mariners- Dean Heffernan, Melbourne Victory captain Kevin Muscat, and Wellington Phoenix leader Andrew Durante.

The midfield three of Gold Coast United-s Jason Culina, Sydney FC retiree Steve Corica, who was also handed the captaincy of the All-Star team, and the current Johnny Warren Medalist, Melbourne Victory playmaker Carlos Hernandez.

Rounding out the Ernie Merrick coached team is the attacking trio of Sydney FC-s Alex Brosque, Melbourne Victory-s Archie Thompson and Gold Coast United’s Hyundai A-League 2009/10 Golden Boot Shane Smeltz.

The winner of the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 All-Star Team voting competition, Luke Southon of Strathfieldsaye, Victoria, has won a prize pack including tickets to today-s Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final, a SONY Handycam and a SONY Cybershot digital camera.

The Melbourne Victory fan was in high spirits following his win in the lead-up to the Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final,

“I couldn-t believe it actually – I got a call this week and I was absolutely over the moon,” said Mr Southon.

“I had a few (Melbourne) Victory boys in there and it was good to see them in most All-Star XI.”

And on the Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final result,

“I-m hoping for a 2-nil Melbourne Victory win, but I think they-ll only win it 1-nil.

“A Carlos Hernandez free-kick would do the trick,” finished Southon.