Hyundai A-League preview: Victory v Roar

Brisbane Roar are in danger of losing touch with the rest of the Hyundai A-League’s top four as they prepare to visit second-placed, in-form Melbourne Victory on Friday night.


Friday, 13 January 2017

Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar FC

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-Off:  7:50PM (Local) (7:50PM (AEDT))

Referee:  Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1:  Luke Brennan

Assistant Referee 2:  Wilson Brown

Fourth Official:  Shaun Evans

TV Broadcast:  Live coverage on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT), SBS VICELAND from 7.30pm AEDT and Sky Sport 5 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast:  Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live, Crocmedia A-League Live ( ), 1116 SEN (Melbourne)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag  #MVCvBRI

To purchase tickets visit

Melbourne Victory squad:  2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Marco ROJAS, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Max BEISTER, 10.James TROISI, 11.Mitch AUSTIN, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 22.Stefan NIGRO, 23.Jai INGHAM,40.Matt ACTON (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Max Beister celebrates scoring on his Melbourne Victory debut against the Wanderers.

Ins:  9.Max BEISTER (promoted), 16.Rashid MAHAZI (promoted), 22.Stefan NIGRO (promoted)

Outs:  15.Alan BARO (suspended – 1 match)

Unavailable:  27.Alastair BRAY (shoulder – 3-4 months)

Brisbane Roar FC  squad:   1.Michael THEO (gk),  3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Corey BROWN, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 11.Tommy OAR, 13.Jade NORTH, 15.ARANA, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 28.Brandon BORRELLO

**two to be omitted**

Brisbane Roar players hit the training track to commence their pre-season this week.

Ins:  16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (promoted), 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO (promoted)

Outs:  Nil

Unavailable:  10.Brett HOLMAN (knee – 1-2 weeks)


What a tough time for Roar to visit Victory.

Having lost their past two games and without a win in three, fourth-placed Brisbane head south to AAMI Park knowing another loss could see them end the weekend five points adrift of the top three in the Hyundai A-League table.

Roar’s away form continues to make for poor reading with only two wins in their past 12 road games and both of them coming against Central Coast Mariners.

To make matters worse for Roar coach John Aloisi, Victory are in scintillating form – undefeated in eight matches and having won their last five – and the Big V are keen to set the record straight as far as they’re concerned following the 1-1 draw between these two teams in the opening round.

Victory dominated the first half of that match at Suncorp Stadium and looked set to win when Mitch Austin struck with seven minutes remaining only for Luke DeVere to score deep into stoppage time for the 10-man hosts.

Luke DeVere

Brisbane haven’t lost to the Big V in four games but Victory won four straight matches before that.

Kevin Muscat’s men are thriving at home too with no defeats in their past six and 20 goals scored in that period.

Victory will be without a player due to suspension for the first time this season on Friday with Alan Baro forced out of the squad.

Nick Ansell is set to replace the Spaniard at centre-back but the home side will still have Marco Rojas, who has overcome an ankle complaint sustained in Victory’s 2-0 win over Adelaide United last week.

Roar are still waiting on the return of Brett Holman (knee) but are otherwise full strength.


Hyundai A-League Round 15 stats preview


After starting the season strong in defence, Roar have failed to keep a clean sheet in their past four matches, letting in seven goals in that period.

In fact five of those goals have been conceded over the past fortnight with Sydney FC triumphing 2-0 over Brisbane before Newcastle Jets stunned Aloisi’s men 3-2.

But it is arguably at the other end that is the Roar’s real problem area with the Queenslanders the only club in the top six yet to score 20 goals this term.

Jamie Maclaren (7 goals) and Thomas Kristensen (4) are Brisbane’s only multiple goal-scorers.

By contrast, Victory have four multiple goal-scorers so far in Besart Berisha (11), Marco Rojas (9), Austin (3) and James Troisi (2).


Jason Geria. The Caltex Socceroo has extended his deal with Victory. 


Melbourne Victory: WWWWW

Brisbane Roar: WWDLL


Melbourne Victory 2-1 Brisbane Roar