Hyundai A-League preview: Adelaide v Perth

Perth Glory have the chance to rise into the top four this weekend but must do so away to Adelaide United – one of their least favourite Hyundai A-League road trips.




Friday, 10 February 2017

Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Coopers Stadium, Adelaide

Kick-Off:  7:20PM (Local) (7:50PM (AEDT))

Referee:  Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1:  Matthew Cream

Assistant Referee 2:  Paul Cetrangolo

Fourth Official:  Daniel Elder

TV Broadcast:  Live coverage on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT), SBS VICELAND from 7.30pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 4 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast:  ABC Adelaide, ABC Radio SA, Grandstand Digital Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live, Crocmedia A-League Live ( )

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #ADLvPER

To purchase tickets visit

Adelaide United squad:  2.Michael MARRONE, 3.Iacopo LA ROCCA, 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Taylor REGAN, 10.Marcelo CARRUSCA, 11.Sergio CIRIO, 12.Mark OCHIENG, 13.Marc MARINO, 14.George MELLS, 15.Ben WARLAND, 16.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIC, 18.Riley McGREE, 19.Ben GARUCCIO, 20.John HALL (gk), 21.Tarek ELRICH, 24.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 30.Daniel MARGUSH (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins:  14.George MELLS (promoted), 15.Ben WARLAND (promoted), 17.Nikola MILEUSNIC (promoted), 30.Daniel MARGUSH (gk) (promoted)

Adelaide United and Wellington Phoenix players shake hands before kick-off at Coopers Stadium on Sunday.

Outs:  1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (shoulder – indefinite), 8.Isaìas (suspended – 1 match)

Unavailable:  22.Ryan KITTO (hamstring – 6 weeks), 23.Jordan ELSEY (knee – season)

Perth Glory squad:  3.Marc WARREN, 5.Rhys WILLIAMS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (c), 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 13.Nick FEELY (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Joe MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Aryn WILLIAMS, 22.Adam TAGGART, 23.Kosta PETRATOS, 24.Milan SMILJANIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins  3.Marc WARREN (promoted), 20.Aryn WILLIAMS (promoted), 23.Kosta PETRATOS (promoted), 33.Liam REDDY (gk) (returns from suspension)

Glory goalkeeper Liam Reddy reacts to saving a first-half penalty against Victory at nib Stadium on Saturday night.

Out:  4.Shane LOWRY (quad – 1 week), 30.Jordan THURTELL (gk) (not selected)

Unavailable:  2.Alex GRANT (foot – 2 weeks), 18.Mitch OXBORROW (foot – 2 weeks)


Perth are aiming for a second straight win over the Reds on Friday night – something they haven’t achieved in almost five years – but to do that they must end their Coopers Stadium hoodoo.

Adelaide haven’t lost in their past six home games against Glory, while Coopers Stadium is one of Perth’s least favourite A-League venues.

Glory have won just four of 18 games there with only Etihad Stadium (0), Suncorp Stadium and Central Coast Stadium (both 2) proving less fruitful for the Western Australians of the regular A-League venues.

But in Perth’s favour is that Adelaide will be severely undermanned for the Round 19 fixture.

On top of captain and goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic missing this match with a shoulder injury, Adelaide coach Guillermo Amor will also be without suspended midfielder Isaias.

A dejected Eugene Galekovic following full-time at Allianz Stadium on Friday night.

Plus new signings Kim Jae-sung, Eli Babalj and Baba Diawara aren’t ready to pull on a red shirt just yet.

On the other hand, Glory coach Kenny Lowe has few big concerns in terms of personnel.

Shane Lowry (quadriceps), Alex Grant (foot) and Mitch Oxborrow (foot) are likely to be fit in the coming weeks, while goalkeeper Liam Reddy returns from suspension for the trip to South Australia.

Without Reddy, Perth’s shaky defence – they’re level with Central Coast Mariners for the most goals conceded this term – was given a scare in a 3-2 win over Newcastle Jets last week.

#PERvNEW - Newcastle Jets have earned competition points in each of their last two Hyundai A-League games against Perth Glory (W1, D1).

If Glory can notch their fourth win in six weeks they will rise above Melbourne City into fourth spot – at least temporarily – while Adelaide are looking for just their third victory of the campaign.

Amor’s side lost 2-1 against the Mariners in Canberra last week.


–       Perth have won three and drawn one of their last five A-League fixtures, though each of those three victories came on home soil

–       No team has conceded more goals than Adelaide (19) in the second half of matches this season

–       Glory have a cross accuracy of 31.8%, the best of any team, while their 111 successful crosses are the second-most of any team in the A-League

–       Nebojsa Marinkovic has a crossing accuracy of 41.3%, the best of any player who has registered at least 20 successful crosses so far this season


Adelaide are the worst attacking team in the A-League in 2016/17 with just 15 goals in 18 matches.

The Reds’ leading scorers – Sergi Guardiola and Henrique (3 goals each) – both left the club last month, and their replacements Babalj and Diawara haven’t been named in the squad to face Glory.

Sergio Cirio

It doesn’t bode well for the hosts.

Meanwhile, only the top-two teams – Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory – have scored more than Perth’s 31 goals this season.

Adam Taggart kick-started Glory versus Newcastle last week to join Andy Keogh as his team’s leading marksman on eight goals, while Diego Castro’s brace saw the 2016 Johnny Warren Medallist reach six for the season.

Adam Taggart celebrates after scoring against the Jets on Sunday afternoon.


Kim Jae-sung. One of two new faces at Adelaide training this week – Diawara has yet to arrive in Australia as he awaits a visa – the Korean revealed the lure of playing abroad and in the AFC Champions League saw him commit to the Reds.


Adelaide United: LWLDL

Perth Glory: WDWLW


Adelaide United 1-2 Perth Glory