Hyundai A-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards to be held online next Thursday

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced that the Hyundai A-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards will be held online next Thursday (10 September 2020) via the Hyundai A-League website ( and Hyundai A-League official Facebook page (

The event will be hosted by FOX SPORTS presenter Adam Peacock, and will begin from 7:30pm (AEST) culminating with the presentation of the Johnny Warren Medal.

FFA Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, was excited that the successes of the past season will be celebrated.

“Unfortunately we are unable to get together to recognise the outstanding achievements from the past season of the Hyundai A-League as we would do normally,” said O’Rourke.

“Following on from the success of the Westfield W-League edition of the Dolan Warren Awards earlier this year, we will be holding a digital version of the Hyundai A-League awards ceremony next Thursday evening.

“There were many memorable moments throughout this season, including Sydney FC winning the Premiership/Championship double and becoming the most successful domestic club in our national League history in the process surpassing Sydney City, Marconi Stallions, South Melbourne FC, and Melbourne Victory who have four Championships each.

“I hope you will all be able to join us to finish off the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season in style ,” concluded O’Rourke.

The Johnny Warren Medal is named in honour of the true legends of Australian Football, and is the highest accolade in the Hyundai A-League.  

The judging panel for the Johnny Warren Medal included former professional players, referees, technical experts and members of the media for the Hyundai A-League regular season.

Panel members from each of the four groups were appointed to vote on a 3-2-1 basis on every match.

A member of the following groups voted on all 143 Hyundai A-League regular season matches:

  • A former NSL and/or Hyundai A-League player
  • A member of the FFA Technical staff
  • The match officials that officiated on the game
  • A senior member of the Australian football media including FFA broadcast partners, print and radio journalists

At the end of the Hyundai A-League Season, all votes are tallied and then independently audited by leading accountancy firm Ernst & Young and the player or players who receive the most votes will be named the winner of the Johnny Warren Medal.

The other Hyundai A-League 2019/20 awards to be presented will include the Fair Play Award, Referee of the Year Award, Nike Golden Boot Award, Goal of the Year, Goal Keeper of the Year, Coach of the Year and Young Footballer of the Year.

Fans can also get involved using the hashtag #DolanWarren