Hyundai A-League clubs’ ACL group details

With Brisbane Roar’s superb win over Shanghai Shenhua on Wednesday night, there are three Hyundai A-League clubs in the group stage of this year’s AFC Champions League.

Roar join champions Adelaide United and last season’s beaten grand finalists Western Sydney Wanderers as the clubs which will take on Asia’s best.

Head here for the fixtures 

Here’s what you need to know about the groups for our three Hyundai A-League representatives in Asia’s premier club competition.

Adelaide United

Gui Amor’s side will have to improve on their inconsistent Hyundai A-League form to come through a tricky Group H.

As well as Japanese heavyweights Gamba Osaka – with the likes of veteran playmaker Yasuhito Endo, who they faced in the 2008 ACL final – they also face Korean outfit Jeju United.

China’s Jiangsu Suning won’t have Caltex Socceroo defender Trent Sainsbury in their squad after his loan move to Inter Milan but still possess plenty of star power in Brazilian duo Ramires and Alex Teixiera.

Western Sydney Wanderers

The 2014 ACL champions are back and arguably face the toughest draw of the A-League clubs in Group F.

As well as K League giants FC Seoul – who the Wanderers beat on the way to their triumph three years ago, Japan’s Urawa Reds will have plenty of support as we’ve seen from their visits to Sydney in the past. 

But most eyes will be looking at the clash with Shanghai SIPG with the likes of Brazilian attackers Hulk and Oscar in their side. What an occasion it will be when they come to Campbelltown in May.

Brisbane Roar

Roar’s reward for their huge win over Carlos Tevez and co. in China is a spot in Group E – and they’ll fancy their chances of progressing.

Thai club Muangthong United is their first opponent later this month and a winning start will be vital.

Japan’s Kashima Antlers will provide a stern test, while the clash against Korea’s Ulsan Hyundai will see Roar come up against former attacker Dimitri Petratos, who made the switch to the K League this week.