Glory claim Westfield W-League Premiership

Perth Glory celebrated claiming the Westfield W-League Premiership with a 5-0 win against Western Sydney Wanderers at Ashfield Sports Club.

Canberra’s 3-3 draw with Newcastle Jets earlier in the day meant Glory were Premiers before their game even kicked off.

Despite having the pressure released, Glory still started slowly in an opening 10 minutes where both sides looked nervous.

Glory however took the initiative through a superb solo goal from Samantha Kerr and never looked back.

Kerr sprinted at full pace past the Wanderers back line before slotting past the keeper with the outside of her foot.

Kerr had a brilliant first half and could easily have scored a bag full of goals, the best of her chances coming when she found herself past the keeper, but put her effort into the side netting.

Kerr eventually added a second as she slotted low and hard past the keeper to double Glory’s lead.

Collette McCallum scored the goal of the game just before half time, firing the ball straight into the top corner of the net.

The Wanderers struggled to get a foothold in the game and their only chance came through a miss hit cross from Keeling Winters, which forced Glory keeper Mackenzie Arnold to focus on keeping the ball the right side of the goal line as she caught it.

With a 3-0 lead at half time, Glory came out in a second half that played out much the same as the first.

Kerr found herself in on the keeper for the third time in the game but this time failed to score. She was on hand moments later to pick up an assist for Marianna Tabain, who fired her effort past Wanderers keeper Trudy Burke.

The scoring was wrapped up through Kate Gill, who put in a strong header across the keeper from the back post.

Glory now play the last two competitive games of the season as premiers with a home semi-final at nib Stadium to look forward to.

Perth Glory 5 (Kerr 17′, 35′, McCallum 39′, Tabain 60′, Gill 87′)

West Sydney Wanderers FC 0

Saturday 15th November 2014

Ashfield Reserve

Kick -off: 3:00pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Assistant referees: Josh Nixon, Zach Picciacco

4th official: Matthew Southern

Perth Glory: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD, 2. Sarah CARROLL, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN (3. Carys HAWKINS 63′) 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Alanna KENNEDY, 9. Caitlin FOORD (13. Elisa D’OVIDIO 63′), 12. Kate GILL, 14. Collette McCALLUM, 15. Shelina ZADORSKY, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 20. Samantha KERR (7. Gabrielle MARZANO 77′)

Substitutes not used: 18. Gabrielle DAL BUSCO

Yellow cards: nil

Red cards: nil

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1. Trudy BURKE, 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Jessica SEAMAN, 4. Caitlin JARVIE (17. Laura DONNELLY 77′), 5. Helen PETINOS, 6. Rachael SOUTAR, 8. Grace HENRY, 9. Keelin WINTERS, 10. Michelle CARNEY, 12. Hannah BEARD (14. Demi KOULIZAKIS 87′), 16. Linda O’NEILL

Substitutes not used: 20. Shamiran KHAMIS

Yellow cards: nil

Red cards: nil